Overview
Merced County's audited governmental funds for the year ended June 30, 2025 report $757,949,566 in total revenues and $755,472,780 in total expenditures. The General Fund reports $621,871,085 in revenues and $604,219,574 in expenditures, ending the year at $179,609,578 (down $999,094). Total governmental funds ended at $322,023,418, and the change in net position of governmental activities was $128,619,965. Notably, final budgeted General Fund revenues of $728,521,356 came in $106,650,271 above actuals, driven largely by aid from other governments.
Source: County of Merced Annual Comprehensive Financial Report, FY ended June 30, 2025 (board agenda portal).
At a glance — ACFR, FY ended June 30, 2025
No figures match that search.
Source: County of Merced Annual Comprehensive Financial Report, FY ended June 30, 2025 (board agenda portal).
Governmental funds — year ended June 30, 2025
Total revenue lines sum exactly to $757,949,566 and total expenditure lines exactly to $755,472,780.
Revenues, total governmental funds.
| Taxes and assessments | $165,885,301 |
| Licenses, permits and franchise fees | $6,524,911 |
| Fines, forfeitures and penalties | $5,779,598 |
| Revenue from use of money and property | $20,961,834 |
| Aid from other governmental agencies | $456,267,004 |
| Charges for current services | $75,421,202 |
| Other revenues | $27,109,716 |
| Total revenues | $757,949,566 |
Expenditures, total governmental funds.
| General government | $62,106,322 |
| Public protection | $207,471,534 |
| Public ways and facilities | $37,357,891 |
| Health and sanitation | $141,841,507 |
| Public assistance | $235,166,986 |
| Education | $4,936,751 |
| Recreation and cultural services | $3,356,132 |
| Debt service — principal | $5,946,281 |
| Debt service — interest | $3,754,506 |
| Administration | $63,972 |
| Capital outlay | $53,470,898 |
| Total expenditures | $755,472,780 |
General Fund — actuals and budget comparison
General Fund revenue lines sum exactly to $621,871,085 and expenditure lines exactly to $604,219,574. The balance walk is exact: beginning $180,608,672 − $999,094 net change = $179,609,578 ending. The budget-and-actual schedule shows final budgeted revenues of $728,521,356 against actuals of $621,871,085 — a −$106,650,271 variance, driven largely by aid from other governmental agencies (actual $380,262,015 vs final budget $469,463,760).
General Fund revenues, actual.
| Taxes and assessments | $130,320,321 |
| Licenses, permits and franchise fees | $6,439,293 |
| Fines, forfeitures and penalties | $4,742,949 |
| Revenue from use of money and property | $11,655,448 |
| Aid from other governmental agencies | $380,262,015 |
| Charges for current services | $72,732,965 |
| Other revenues | $15,718,094 |
| Total General Fund revenues | $621,871,085 |
General Fund expenditures, actual.
| General government | $59,559,293 |
| Public protection | $165,919,189 |
| Health and sanitation | $137,386,793 |
| Public assistance | $226,848,871 |
| Education | $4,936,751 |
| Recreation and cultural services | $3,356,132 |
| Debt service — principal | $1,814,674 |
| Debt service — interest | $220,225 |
| Administration | $43,101 |
| Capital outlay | $4,134,545 |
| Total General Fund expenditures | $604,219,574 |
General Fund balance walk and budget comparison.
| Fund balance, July 1, 2024 | $180,608,672 |
| Net change | −$999,094 |
| Fund balance, June 30, 2025 | $179,609,578 |
| Total governmental funds, June 30, 2025 | $322,023,418 |
| Change in net position of governmental activities | $128,619,965 |
| General Fund revenues — final budget | $728,521,356 |
| General Fund revenues — actual | $621,871,085 |
| Variance (actual − final budget) | −$106,650,271 |
Elected officials
The ACFR names the Auditor-Controller below. The Board of Supervisors has five district-elected members, but their names are not shown in the cited ACFR excerpts, so no supervisor names are listed here rather than risking stale names.
| Auditor-Controller | Lisa Cardella-Presto, CPA |
| Board of Supervisors | 5 seats (names not shown) |
Source: County of Merced ACFR FY 2024-25.
Board meetings
The Board of Supervisors meets at 10:00 a.m. two Tuesdays per month in the Board Chambers on the third floor of the Merced County Administration Building, 2222 M Street, Merced.
Next meeting: Tuesday, November 3, 2026, 10:00 a.m.
Livability — Merced County
Merced County scores 34.4 on the Hometown Numbers Livability Index, ranked #53 of 58 ranked California counties. Violent crime: 527.3 reported violent crimes per 100,000 residents in 2024 (FBI Crime Data Explorer; score 25.4, where a higher score means a lower rate). Full rankings: California livability rankings.
| Component | Value | Score (0–100) |
|---|---|---|
| Housing affordability (median home value ÷ median household income) | 5.98 | 47.4 |
| Median household income | $65,510 | 14.7 |
| Mean commute time | 31.3 minutes | 19.8 |
| Violent crime (reported crimes per 100,000 residents) | 527.3 | 25.4 |
| High school graduation rate | 91.7% | 79.5 |
| Uninsured rate | 8.6% | 19.8 |
| Unemployment rate | Not retrievable (see note) | — |
Method: percentile rank (count below + 0.5 × count equal) ÷ N × 100, lower-better measures inverted; composite is the mean of available component scores, rounded to 1 decimal; a county needs at least 5 of 7 components or it is unranked, never estimated. Vintages: ACS 2024 5-year (2020–2024) for housing affordability, income, and commute; FBI Crime Data Explorer 2024 for violent crime; County Health Rankings 2025 release for graduation and uninsured. Unemployment (BLS LAUS 2024) is missing for every California county because the BLS public API was unreachable (HTTP 503) on 2026-10-25; composites rest on the other components and will be recomputed if BLS data becomes available.
Housing prices — Merced County
County-level figures for Merced County.
| Median home value | $391,800 |
| Median gross rent | $1,343 per month |
Source: American Community Survey 2024 5-year estimates (2020–2024), tables B25077 (median home value) and B25064 (median gross rent).
Public schools — Merced County
Schools physically located in Merced County.
116 public schools in 22 school districts, from the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES EDGE Public School Locations, 2024–25 school year).
1 schools in the NCES 2024–25 locations list for this county are not shown because they are not currently open: Early Education Center (status 7) — temporarily closed (status 6) or scheduled to open within 2 years (status 7) under NCES CCD operational status codes.
| School | Level | District | City |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ada Givens Elementary | Elementary (KG-06) | Merced City Elementary | Merced |
| Aileen Colburn Elementary | Elementary (KG-06) | Atwater Elementary | Atwater |
| Alicia Reyes Elementary | Elementary (KG-06) | Merced City Elementary | Merced |
| Allan Peterson Elementary | Elementary (KG-06) | Merced City Elementary | Merced |
| Atwater High | High (09-12) | Merced Union High | Atwater |
| Atwater Senior Academy | Middle (06-08) | Atwater Elementary | Atwater |
| Ballico-Cressey Community Charter | Elementary (01-08) | Ballico-Cressey Elementary | Ballico |
| Bellevue Elementary | Elementary (KG-06) | Atwater Elementary | Atwater |
| Bellevue Senior Elementary | Middle (07-08) | Atwater Elementary | Atwater |
| Bernhard Marks Elementary | Elementary (03-05) | Dos Palos Oro Loma Joint Unified | Dos Palos |
| Bryant Middle | Middle (06-08) | Dos Palos Oro Loma Joint Unified | Dos Palos |
| Buhach Colony High | High (09-12) | Merced Union High | Atwater |
| Campus Park Elementary | Elementary (KG-05) | Livingston Union | Livingston |
| Cesar E. Chavez Middle | Middle (06-08) | Planada Elementary | Planada |
| Charles Wright Elementary | Elementary (KG-06) | Merced City Elementary | Merced |
| Charleston Elementary | Elementary (KG-06) | Los Banos Unified | Los Banos |
| Colony Basic Skills Alternative High | High (09-12) | Hilmar Unified | Hilmar |
| Come Back Charter | High (09-12) | Merced County Office of Education | Merced |
| Creekside Junior High | Middle (07-08) | Los Banos Unified | Los Banos |
| Cressey Elementary | Elementary (KG-KG) | Ballico-Cressey Elementary | Cressey |
| Crossroads Alternative Education Center | Other (KG-12) | Los Banos Unified | Los Banos |
| Delhi High | High (09-12) | Delhi Unified | Delhi |
| Delhi Middle | Middle (07-08) | Delhi Unified | Delhi |
| Don Stowell Elementary | Elementary (KG-06) | Merced City Elementary | Merced |
| Donn B. Chenoweth Elementary | Elementary (KG-06) | Merced City Elementary | Merced |
| Dos Palos Carver Center | Not Reported | Dos Palos Oro Loma Joint Unified | Dos Palos |
| Dos Palos Elementary | Elementary (KG-02) | Dos Palos Oro Loma Joint Unified | Dos Palos |
| Dos Palos High | High (09-12) | Dos Palos Oro Loma Joint Unified | Dos Palos |
| El Capitan Elementary | Elementary (KG-06) | Delhi Unified | Delhi |
| El Capitan High | High (09-12) | Merced Union High | Merced |
| El Nido Elementary | Elementary (KG-08) | El Nido Elementary | El Nido |
| El Nido Preschool | Not Reported | El Nido Elementary | El Nido |
| Elim Elementary | Elementary (03-05) | Hilmar Unified | Hilmar |
| Elmer Wood Elementary | Elementary (KG-06) | Atwater Elementary | Atwater |
| Farmdale Elementary | Elementary (KG-05) | Weaver Union | Merced |
| Floyd A. Schelby | Other (KG-12) | Merced County Office of Education | Livingston |
| Frank Sparkes Elementary | Elementary (KG-05) | Winton | Winton |
| Franklin Elementary | Elementary (KG-03) | Merced City Elementary | Merced |
| Golden Valley High | High (09-12) | Merced Union High | Merced |
| Granada High | High (09-12) | Le Grand Union High | Le Grand |
| Grasslands Elementary | Elementary (KG-06) | Los Banos Unified | Los Banos |
| Gustine Elementary | Elementary (KG-05) | Gustine Unified | Gustine |
| Gustine High | High (09-12) | Gustine Unified | Gustine |
| Gustine Middle | Middle (06-08) | Gustine Unified | Gustine |
| Harmony Elementary | Elementary (KG-06) | Delhi Unified | Delhi |
| Henry Miller Elementary | Elementary (KG-06) | Los Banos Unified | Los Banos |
| Herbert H. Cruickshank Middle | Middle (07-08) | Merced City Elementary | Merced |
| Herbert Hoover Middle | Middle (07-08) | Merced City Elementary | Merced |
| Hilmar Elementary | Elementary (KG-02) | Hilmar Unified | Hilmar |
| Hilmar High | High (09-12) | Hilmar Unified | Hilmar |
| Hilmar Middle | Middle (06-08) | Hilmar Unified | Hilmar |
| Independence High (Alternative) | High (09-12) | Merced Union High | Merced |
| Irwin High (Continuation) | High (09-12) | Hilmar Unified | Hilmar |
| Joe Stefani | Elementary (03-06) | Merced City Elementary | Merced |
| John C. Fremont Elementary | Elementary (KG-06) | Merced City Elementary | Merced |
| John Muir Elementary | Elementary (KG-06) | Merced City Elementary | Merced |
| Juniper Elementary | Elementary (KG-06) | Atwater Elementary | Atwater |
| Le Grand Elementary | Elementary (KG-08) | Le Grand Union Elementary | Le Grand |
| Le Grand High | High (09-12) | Le Grand Union High | Le Grand |
| Leontine Gracey Elementary | Elementary (KG-06) | Merced City Elementary | Merced |
| Livingston High | High (09-12) | Merced Union High | Livingston |
| Livingston Middle | Middle (06-08) | Livingston Union | Livingston |
| Livingston Stepping Stones Preschool | Not Reported | Livingston Union | Livingston |
| Lorena Falasco Elementary | Elementary (KG-06) | Los Banos Unified | Los Banos |
| Los Banos Elementary | Elementary (KG-06) | Los Banos Unified | Los Banos |
| Los Banos High | High (09-12) | Los Banos Unified | Los Banos |
| Los Banos Junior High | Middle (07-08) | Los Banos Unified | Los Banos |
| Los Banos Special Education Preschool | Not Reported | Los Banos Unified | Los Banos |
| Luther Burbank Elementary | Elementary (KG-06) | Merced City Elementary | Merced |
| Margaret Sheehy Elementary | Elementary (KG-06) | Merced City Elementary | Merced |
| McSwain Elementary | Elementary (KG-08) | McSwain Union Elementary | Merced |
| Merced City School District Community Day | Elementary (KG-06) | Merced City Elementary | Merced |
| Merced County Juvenile Court | Other (KG-12) | Merced County Office of Education | Merced |
| Merced County ROP | High (11-12) | Merced County ROP | Merced |
| Merced County Special Education | Other (KG-12) | Merced County Office of Education | Merced |
| Merced High | High (09-12) | Merced Union High | Merced |
| Merced Scholars Charter | Other (KG-12) | Merced County Office of Education | Merced |
| Mercey Springs Elementary | Elementary (KG-06) | Los Banos Unified | Los Banos |
| Merquin Elementary | Elementary (KG-05) | Hilmar Unified | Stevinson |
| Mitchell Elementary | Elementary (KG-06) | Atwater Elementary | Atwater |
| Mitchell Intermediate | Middle (07-08) | Atwater Elementary | Atwater |
| Pacheco High | High (09-12) | Los Banos Unified | Los Banos |
| Peggy Heller Elementary | Elementary (KG-08) | Atwater Elementary | Atwater |
| Pioneer Elementary | Elementary (KG-05) | Weaver Union | Merced |
| Pioneer Headstart | Not Reported | Gustine Unified | Gustine |
| Pioneer High (Continuation) | High (09-12) | Gustine Unified | Gustine |
| Plainsburg Union Elementary | Elementary (KG-08) | Plainsburg Union Elementary | Merced |
| Planada Elementary | Elementary (KG-05) | Planada Elementary | Planada |
| R. M. Miano Elementary | Elementary (KG-06) | Los Banos Unified | Los Banos |
| Romero Elementary | Elementary (KG-05) | Gustine Unified | Santa Nella |
| Rudolph Rivera Elementary | Elementary (KG-06) | Merced City Elementary | Merced |
| Rudolph Rivera Middle | Middle (07-08) | Merced City Elementary | Merced |
| San Luis High (Continuation) | High (09-12) | Los Banos Unified | Los Banos |
| Schendel Elementary | Elementary (KG-06) | Delhi Unified | Delhi |
| Selma Herndon Elementary | Elementary (KG-05) | Livingston Union | Livingston |
| Sequoia High | High (09-12) | Merced Union High | Merced |
| Shaffer Elementary | Elementary (KG-06) | Atwater Elementary | Atwater |
| Snelling-Merced Falls Elementary | Elementary (KG-08) | Snelling-Merced Falls Union Elementary | Snelling |
| Sybil N. Crookham Elementary | Elementary (KG-05) | Winton | Winton |
| Tenaya Middle | Middle (07-08) | Merced City Elementary | Merced |
| Thomas Olaeta Elementary | Elementary (KG-06) | Atwater Elementary | Atwater |
| Transitional Kindergarten Center | Elementary (KG-KG) | Los Banos Unified | Los Banos |
| Valley Atwater Community | High (06-12) | Merced County Office of Education | Atwater |
| Valley Los Banos Community | High (06-12) | Merced County Office of Education | Los Banos |
| Valley Merced Community | Other (KG-12) | Merced County Office of Education | Merced |
| Volta Elementary | Elementary (KG-06) | Los Banos Unified | Los Banos |
| Washington Elementary | Elementary (KG-08) | Merced River Union Elementary | Winton |
| Weaver Middle | Middle (06-08) | Weaver Union | Merced |
| Weaver Preschool | Not Reported | Weaver Union | Merced |
| Westside Community Day Middle High | High (07-12) | Dos Palos Oro Loma Joint Unified | South Dos Palos |
| Westside High | High (09-12) | Dos Palos Oro Loma Joint Unified | South Dos Palos |
| Westside Union Elementary | Elementary (KG-06) | Los Banos Unified | Los Banos |
| Winfield Elementary | Elementary (KG-05) | Winton | Winton |
| Winton Middle | Middle (06-08) | Winton | Winton |
| Yamato Colony Elementary | Elementary (KG-05) | Livingston Union | Livingston |
| Yosemite High (Continuation) | High (09-12) | Merced Union High | Merced |
School performance (proficiency): district-level proficiency values are published in the federal Ed Data Express tool and are retrievable by CSV export, but they have not yet been added to this page — the export requires a live-browser download (direct requests to the tool are blocked), so no proficiency figures are shown rather than substituted ones. Source for the list: NCES EDGE Public School Locations — Current, 2024–25.
Neighbor comparison
How Merced County’s General Fund spending per resident and fund-balance share compare with adjacent counties, computed from each dashboard’s own published figures.
| Government | Per-capita GF spending | Fund balance % |
|---|---|---|
| Merced County (this dashboard) | $2,082.07 | 29.73% |
| Fresno County | $2,577.01 | — |
| Mariposa County | $5,782.16 | — |
| San Benito County | $1,123.23 | — |
| Santa Clara County | $2,856.57 | — |
| Stanislaus County | $981.11 | — |
| Madera County (no dashboard yet) | — | — |
GF figure: General Fund expenditures, FY 2024-25 actual.
Fund balance: General Fund fund balance, June 30, 2025.
Fresno County: Fund-balance % dashed: fund balance available $89,000,000 is beginning, not ending
Mariposa County: Fund-balance % dashed: no GF ending balance published
San Benito County: Fund-balance % dashed: no GF ending balance published (reserves $7,090,000 + restricted $5,065,000 are capital-component reserves)
Santa Clara County: Fund-balance % dashed: no GF ending balance published
Stanislaus County: Fund-balance % dashed: no GF ending balance published ($72,186,652 funding required is a gap, not ending)
Madera County: No Madera County dashboard in this dataset (no county GF figure exists here); a city dashboard in the county, if any, does not supply a county figure.
Per-capita GF spending = the dashboard’s published General Fund total ÷ county population (ACS 2024 5-year, table B01003). Fund balance % = published GF ending balance ÷ GF total for the same fiscal year unless noted.
— in the fund-balance column means no GF ending balance is published on that dashboard (adopted budgets typically state only a January 1 balance).
Neighbor rows are county figures for the counties adjacent to the home county (U.S. Census Bureau County Adjacency File, 2024; out-of-state neighbors excluded).
Sources & notes
- Only source used for figures: County of Merced, Annual Comprehensive Financial Report for the Fiscal Year ended June 30, 2025 (board agenda portal). ACFR FY 2024-25.
- Sum checks: total revenues exact ($757,949,566); total expenditures exact ($755,472,780); General Fund revenues exact ($621,871,085); General Fund expenditures exact ($604,219,574); General Fund balance walk exact ($179,609,578); total governmental funds walk exact ($322,023,418).
- What is not claimed: no FY 2025-26 Final Budget figures (that book was not retrieved; its $1.12 billion approval is not a page figure); no outstanding-debt total was extracted from the cited statements; supervisor names are not listed because they are not shown in the cited ACFR excerpts.
- Jurisdiction palette: no verified Merced County palette was on file, so this page uses the neutral Hometown Numbers dark-glass theme rather than a county color.
