Overview
Schenectady County's adopted 2026 Operating Budget totals $460,735,115. The Legislature adopted it on October 15, 2025 by 14 ayes with 1 excused, after amending the tentative budget upward by $62,045: $12,045 for the Executive Assistant to the Director of Human Rights and $50,000 to refurbish veterans' monuments countywide, funded by an equal $62,045 use of fund balance. The 2026–2031 capital program was adopted the same day.
At a glance — adopted budget 2026
Headline budget
Resolution 155-25 as adopted, October 15, 2025. The two amendments and the fund-balance offset are printed in the resolution itself.
| Operating Budget, 2026 adopted | $460,735,115 |
| Tentative budget (before amendments) | $460,673,070 |
| Amendment: Executive Assistant, Human Rights | $12,045 |
| Amendment: refurbish veterans' monuments | $50,000 |
| Amendment total | $62,045 |
| Increase in use of fund balance | $62,045 |
Breakdown
The minutes book does not break the operating budget down by fund or department, so no breakdown is invented here. The only components the resolution states are the amendments.
| Tentative budget | $460,673,070 |
| Plus amendments at adoption | $62,045 |
| Adopted Operating Budget, 2026 | $460,735,115 |
Sum check: $460,673,070 + $62,045 = $460,735,115, exactly the adopted total printed in the resolution. The capital program's dollar total is not stated in the retrieved minutes text and is not shown.
Elected officials
As named in the 2025 Minutes Book. District assignments on the book's cover are garbled in extraction and are not shown; the ayes list for Resolution 155-25 is given in the sources note.
| Chairman, County Legislature | Gary Hughes |
| Clerk of the Legislature | Geoffrey T. Hall |
| County Manager | Rory Fluman |
| Legislator (aye) | Thomas Constantine |
| Legislator (aye) | Joshua Cuomo |
| Legislator (aye) | Peter Frisoni |
| Legislator (aye) | Cathy Gatta |
| Legislator (aye) | Eric Hess |
| Legislator (aye) | Rajnikant Ishmael |
| Legislator (aye) | Omar McGill |
| Legislator (aye) | Michelle Ostrelich |
| Legislator (aye) | Richard Patierne |
| Legislator (aye) | Sara Mae Pratt |
| Legislator (aye) | Richard Ruzzo |
| Legislator (aye) | Haileab Samuel |
| Legislator (aye) | Holly Vellano |
| Legislator (excused) | Anthony Jasenski, Sr. |
Sources & notes
- Only source used: Schenectady County Legislature, 2025 Minutes Book, Resolutions 155-25 and 156-25 (October 15, 2025). 2025 Minutes Book.
- Sum check: tentative $460,673,070 + amendments $62,045 = adopted $460,735,115.
- What is not claimed: no fund breakdown, no tax-levy figure, and no capital-program dollar total are shown, because the minutes text retrieved does not state them; a $148 million capital-program figure in secondary coverage is not cited.
- Jurisdiction palette: No verified New York jurisdiction palette was on file, so this page uses the neutral Hometown Numbers dark-glass theme rather than a jurisdiction color.