City of Wellington, Kansas
← Kansas
Unofficial demonstration dashboard

City of Wellington, Kansas

Presented through its audited financial statements for the year ended December 31, 2025. This is Wellington, Kansas — Wellington, Colorado is a different city and none of its figures appear here. The city is a second-class city with a council-manager form of government: a mayor and a six-member council.

Basis — read this first: every figure on this page comes from the City’s audited financial statements for the year ended December 31, 2025, prepared on the KMAAG regulatory basis. The auditors gave an adverse opinion on U.S. GAAP and an unmodified opinion on the regulatory basis. Figures are actuals, not budget authority, except where a budget comparison is stated. The reporting entity includes the Wellington Public Library, the Public Building Commission, and the Wellington Health Care Authority, and excludes the Wellington Housing Authority.
Wellington Carnegie Library in Wellington, Kansas
Wellington Carnegie Library, Wellington, KansasPhoto: Lefibreguy / Wikimedia Commons (CC BY-SA 4.0) — source

Overview

The City of Wellington ended 2025 with $22,340,419 of unencumbered cash across the reporting entity and $24,565,456 of ending cash. Receipts for the year were $43,713,022 against expenditures of $43,688,312. The General Fund closed at $3,044,157 unencumbered ($3,443,796 cash) after spending $11,450,903 against a budget for comparison of $11,558,329 (certified $11,404,535 plus qualifying credits $153,794) — $107,426 under. Primary-government long-term debt at year-end was $18,044,399, and $18,504,399 including the Public Building Commission. The City held a revenue neutral rate hearing for the year.

Source: City of Wellington 2025 financial statements, summary statement.

At a glance — audited 2025

$22,340,419
Ending unencumbered cash, reporting entity
$24,565,456
Ending cash, reporting entity
$43,713,022
Receipts, 2025, reporting entity
$43,688,312
Expenditures, 2025, reporting entity
$3,044,157
General Fund ending unencumbered cash
$18,044,399
Primary-government long-term debt

Source: City of Wellington 2025 financial statements, summary statement.

Funds — audited 2025

Reporting-entity walk (excluding agency funds): $22,184,027 + $131,682 of prior-year cancelled encumbrances + receipts $43,713,022 − expenditures $43,688,312 = ending unencumbered cash $22,340,419; plus $2,225,037 of encumbrances and accounts payable = ending cash $24,565,456. Primary government alone: $21,427,402 + $131,682 + $42,442,367 − $42,798,306 = $21,203,145; plus $2,224,637 = $23,427,782. Total cash $24,579,382 less agency funds $13,926 = $24,565,456.

FundReceiptsExpendituresEnding unencumbered
General$11,030,314$11,450,903$3,044,157
Electric, Waterworks & Sewage Utility$18,318,792$20,581,840$4,739,760
Electric, Waterworks & Sewage Capital Improvement——$8,319,771
Capital Improvements——$1,846,881
Employee Benefit——$450,830
Special Liability——$214,321
Bond and Interest——$198,933
Sanitation Utility——$197,285
Special Highway——$192,568
Hospital Sales Tax$731,373$731,373$0
Library——$987

General Fund receipts include ad valorem tax $2,199,395, neighborhood revitalization rebate −$30,211, delinquent tax $115,074, motor vehicle tax $282,864, franchise fees $240,542, sales tax $1,419,116, compensating use tax $336,943, ambulance fees $812,690, interfund revenue $1,171,679, operating transfers in $2,707,279, and reimbursed expense $225,294. General Fund department totals (current-year actual): Mayor and Council $12,328; City Manager $324,829; City Clerk $354,155; Utility Collections $383,444; General Services $327,639; Janitorial $86,202; IT and GIS $174,243; Police $2,138,933; Fire $2,741,707; Municipal Auditorium $40,019; Parks $323,972; Swimming Pool $6,340; Streets $1,127,019; Cemetery $264,503; Engineering, Planning, and Inspection $190,100; Legal and Police Court $270,343; Lake Recreation $344,192; Facilities $759,895; Appropriations $45,500; Non-Departmental $467,715; Operating Transfers Out $1,067,825. The General Fund walk: $3,463,271 + $1,475 + $11,030,314 − $11,450,903 = $3,044,157; plus $399,639 = $3,443,796 cash. The Hospital Sales Tax Fund remits its 1% dedicated sales tax to the Health Care Authority: $731,373 in, $731,373 out, $0 ending balance.

Negative balances as printed, disclosed: Wellington Airport FAA Grant −$183,525 unencumbered ($6,599 cash after $190,124 of payables); CDBG Housing Grant −$42,236 (−$8,250 cash); Plum Street Waterline Project began at −$2,405 and ended at $2,000; Municipal Golf Course began at −$10,870 and ended at $869 ($12,052 cash). The Bond and Interest Fund’s $198,933 unencumbered balance differs by $2 from its $198,931 cash balance, as printed.

Source: City of Wellington 2025 financial statements, fund schedules.

Debt — audited 2025

Primary-government walk: beginning $18,909,589 + additions $1,974,035 − reductions $2,839,225 = ending $18,044,399; interest paid in 2025 was $492,006. Reporting-entity total is $18,504,399 including Public Building Commission revenue bonds of $460,000; reporting-entity interest paid was $513,931.

ItemAmount
General obligation bonds$12,497,053
— Series 2021-C$4,405,000
— Series 2015 refunding$1,760,000
— Series 2019-A$1,355,000
— Series 2025 (issued 3/25/2025)$1,515,000
Revenue bonds$3,125,000
KDHE loan$454,385
Finance leases$1,967,961
— Aerial Fire Truck lease$1,111,272
— 2025 Vacuum Truck lease$396,079
— 2024 Ambulance lease$173,481
Primary-government total$18,044,399
2026 general obligation debt service — principal$2,312,924
2026 general obligation debt service — interest$333,907
2026 general obligation debt service — total$2,646,831

Health Care Authority notes, disclosed: the forbearance agreement balance was $657 at December 31, 2025 (agreement total $1,519,343, repaid at $40,000 per month from August 2021); the KPERS unfunded actuarial liability of $2,918,099 is unpaid and in negotiation; a vendor settlement balance originally $2,418,134 is being paid at $20,000 per month; the Authority appropriated $240,000 to the City in 2025; and potential vendor accounts payable estimated at $619,288 are not reported as payable.

Source: City of Wellington 2025 financial statements, Note 9.

Sources & notes

  • Source used: City of Wellington, Kansas, audit / financial statements for the year ended December 31, 2025 (report signed at Lawrence, Kansas, August 10, 2026; the firm name appears only as a logo and is not stated in the text) Read the source document.
  • Sum checks: reporting-entity walk $22,184,027 + $131,682 + $43,713,022 − $43,688,312 = $22,340,419, plus $2,225,037 = $24,565,456; General Fund walk $3,463,271 + $1,475 + $11,030,314 − $11,450,903 = $3,044,157, plus $399,639 = $3,443,796; General Fund receipt and department builds re-added in Python and match the printed totals exactly; debt components $12,497,053 + $3,125,000 + $454,385 + $1,967,961 = $18,044,399.
  • Identity: this is the City of Wellington, Kansas, the county seat of Sumner County.
  • Jurisdiction palette: no verified palette was on file for this jurisdiction, so this page uses the neutral Hometown Numbers dark-glass theme rather than a jurisdiction color.

← Back to Kansas