Washington, Kansas
← Kansas
Unofficial demonstration dashboard

Washington, Kansas

City of Washington, Kansas (seat of Washington County) — audited financial statement for the year ended December 31, 2025, on the KMAAG regulatory basis. (This is the city, not Washington County, which has its own page.)

Basis — read this first: All figures are audited actuals for the year ended December 31, 2025, from the city’s audit (Shipley CPA, LLC, report dated March 11, 2026), on the KMAAG regulatory basis. The audit’s summary statement did not extract legibly, so no entity total is stated here — the figures below come from the General Fund schedule and other fund schedules, which did extract cleanly and are sum-checked. DEBT GAP: the Note 5 long-term debt schedule did not extract legibly, and a web search found no usable mirror copy of this city’s 2025 audit, so no exact outstanding debt total is stated — only the issued amounts that are stated with certainty in the notes. This page does not use adopted-budget figures.

Overview

The City of Washington’s General Fund was essentially flat in 2025: it began the year at $1,462,034, took in $532,027, spent $532,526, and ended at $1,461,535 — a net change of ($499). The city’s other reported funds — Employee Benefits ($191,527 ending), Library ($158,069), Special Highway ($224,579), and Special Law & Fire ($69,745) — all closed in positive balance. Two issued obligations are stated with certainty in the notes: Series 2021 general obligation bonds issued at $6,151,000, and a 2022 lease-purchase of $1,884,157 for two electric power plant engines. No jurisdiction color palette was identified from an official site or seal, so this page uses the neutral default theme.

At a glance

$532,027
General Fund receipts, 2025 (audited)
$532,526
General Fund expenditures, 2025 (audited)
$1,461,535
General Fund ending unencumbered cash
$191,527
Employee Benefits ending
$6,151,000
Series 2021 GO bonds issued (not an outstanding balance)

Basis: audited, year ended December 31, 2025. No entity total or debt-outstanding total is stated — see the basis notice.

Funds

FundBeginningReceiptsExpendituresEnding unencumbered
General Fund$1,462,034$532,027$532,526$1,461,535
Employee Benefits$190,996$112,838$112,307$191,527
Library$130,777$83,045$55,753$158,069
Special Highway$265,730$33,565$74,716$224,579
Special Law & Fire$120,859$7,499$58,613$69,745

General Fund walk: $1,462,034 + $532,027 − $532,526 = $1,461,535. For context, the prior year (2024) saw $667,386 in General Fund receipts — including $159,507 in miscellaneous receipts — against $710,988 in expenditures, including $283,507 for housing cleanup. The audit’s summary statement did not extract legibly, so no entity total is stated on this page.

Interfund transfers in 2025 (Note 6): General Fund to Special Law and Fire $2,000; General Fund to Municipal Equipment Reserve $15,000; General Fund to Capital Projects $10,000; Water Utility to Municipal Equipment Reserve $5,800 and to Capital Projects $10,000; Electric Utility to Municipal Equipment Reserve $55,000 and to Capital Projects $5,000; Sewer and Waste Utility to Municipal Equipment Reserve $10,000 and to Capital Projects $10,000; Ambulance Utility to Ambulance Reserve $10,000.

General Fund detail

Receipts, 2025 actual (sum-checks to $532,027):

ReceiptAmount
Ad valorem tax$238,752
Delinquent tax$3,515
Motor vehicle tax$34,307
Recreational vehicle tax$776
16/20M vehicle tax$279
Commercial vehicle tax$25
Watercraft tax$237
Neighborhood revitalization rebate($23,734)
Liquor tax$1,300
Local sales tax$136,338
Franchise tax$41,802
Payments in lieu of taxes$8,371
Fines, forfeitures, and penalties$300
Licenses$2,826
Cemetery, pool, and park fees$19,060
Fire$402
Police$2,892
Street$1,731
Friendly Corner$3,950
Ballpark$20,080
Interest on idle funds$19,730
Miscellaneous$19,088
Total receipts$532,027

Expenditures, 2025 actual (sum-checks to $532,526): Administration $129,485 (personnel $98,892 + contractual $27,607 + commodities $2,986); Police $9,778; Fire $12,505; Cemetery, Pool & Park $124,120; Street $190,592; Golf course appropriation $5,000; Economic development $530; Housing cleanup $2,806; Friendly Corners $11,395; Playground $19,315; Transfers out $27,000.

Debt

What the notes state with certainty:

  • Series 2021 General Obligation Bonds, issued $6,151,000, refunding the Series 2019 General Obligation Temporary Notes for a water improvement project (note interest rate 1.75% for the general obligation bonds).
  • Lease-purchase agreement from 2022 for two engines for the city’s electric power plant, $1,884,157 at 3.78% over 20 years, with payments from April 8, 2022.

What is not stated, and why: the Note 5 long-term debt schedule in the state-portal copy did not extract legibly (the table’s columns are scrambled), and a web search for a mirror copy of this city’s 2025 audit found no usable second copy. Fragmentary figures that look like reductions and ending balances appear in the scrambled table with incomplete final digits and are NOT published here. No outstanding debt total is therefore stated on this page; the two issued amounts above are not outstanding balances. KPERS: city contributions were $53,567 in 2025; the city’s proportionate net pension liability share of $461,999 is disclosed in the notes but not reported in the statement under KMAAG.

Sources & notes

Sum-checks: the General Fund receipts detail and the General Fund expenditure detail both tie exactly to their printed 2025 totals ($532,027 and $532,526), and the General Fund walk chains exactly ($1,462,034 − $499 = $1,461,535). Note on the source document’s layout: in this audit’s General Fund and other fund schedules, the detail rows run prior-year first while the total and walk rows run current-year first — the 2025 figures on this page are the ones that reconcile on both sides. The state-portal file’s fetch title reads “Microsoft Word — Blue Rapids FS Notes” although its content is the City of Washington audit; that file-label quirk is noted here for transparency and does not affect the figures.

Source: City of Washington audit, year ended December 31, 2025 (Kansas Department of Administration filing).