Shawnee County
← Kansas
Unofficial demonstration dashboard

Shawnee County, Kansas

Unofficial demonstration dashboard for Shawnee County, Kansas, built from its adopted budget for 2026.

Basis — read this first: every adopted figure on this page comes from the certificate figures in Shawnee County's adopted budget for 2026 — the certificate to the County Clerk of Shawnee County states that after the budget hearing the budget was “duly approved and adopted as the maximum expenditures for the various funds for the year 2026” and that ad valorem is within statutory limitations. Adopted totals: authority $240,007,805; 2025 ad valorem $117,701,819; final rate 48.911 mills. No secondary-source total is used as an adopted figure anywhere on this page — the adopted figures are the official certificate figures, and the hearing-notice figures in the Proposed vs. final section are labeled proposed, not adopted. The hearing notice and the certificate differ because they rest on different valuations (see Proposed vs. final). A blank second fund table on p. 17 (all 2026 figures 0) is not reported as a fund.
Shawnee County Courthouse in Topeka, Kansas
Shawnee County Courthouse, Topeka, Kansas (1975)Photo: Grace Muilenburg / Kansas Geological Survey (KGS non-commercial/educational reuse with credit) — source

Overview

Shawnee County adopted a 2026 budget of $240,007,805. The General Fund ($204,031,156) dominates the budget, followed by Solid Waste ($20,004,311) and the Public Building Commission ($12,000,966). The 2025 ad valorem tax is $117,701,819 at a final rate of 48.911 mills. The certificate was attested September 24, 2025, by the County Clerk, with governing-body signatures present (names illegible, not named) and a September 24, 2025 County Clerk receipt stamp. An exceeds-revenue-neutral-rate resolution was required: Resolution No. 2025-68 (K.S.A. 79-2988), revenue-neutral rate 46.211 mills, hearing September 8, 2025, roll call all yes — Aaron D. Mays (Chair), William D. Riphahn (Vice-Chair), Kevin J. Cook (Member) — attested by Lisa Schmitt, County Clerk. That resolution authorizes exceeding the revenue-neutral rate; it does not state the final levy — the certificate does. The November 1, 2025 total assessed valuation, less TIF, is $2,406,507,578 (the levy valuation; handwritten total $2,410,857,201 less TIF).

Source: Shawnee County 2026 adopted budget, certificate p. 1 and Resolution 2025-68 (Shawnee County Clerk budgets page).

At a glance — adopted budget 2026

$240,007,805
Total budget authority, all funds (certificate; fund authorities sum exactly)
$204,031,156
General Fund authority
$117,701,819
2025 ad valorem tax (certificate; $117,609,017 + $92,802)
48.911
Final rate (mills); revenue-neutral rate 46.211
$54,141,043
Total indebtedness outstanding Jan 1, 2025 (statement total; see debt scope note)
$16,800,692
Lease-purchase / COP principal Jan 1, 2025 (separate statement)

Source: Shawnee County 2026 adopted budget, certificate p. 1 and Statements of Indebtedness / lease-purchases.

General Fund — adopted 2026

January 1, 2026 cash $47,841,191 + 2026 receipts excluding the “xxxx” ad valorem line $40,204,741 = resources $88,045,932 (exact). Receipt lines summing exactly to $40,204,741: Delinquent $1,531,903; Motor Vehicle $9,944,314; Recreational Vehicle $109,211; 16/20M Vehicle $43,095; Commercial Vehicle $372,430; Watercraft $75,466; Gross Earnings $0; Local Alcoholic Liquor $828,151; City County Highway $1,586,826; Franchise $300,000; Special Assessments $2,400,000; Intergovernmental $2,785,800; Charges for Services $3,207,832; License/Fines/Fees/Permits $2,262,848; Other $2,366,219; Transfer from Solid Waste indirect $320,020; Transfer from Motor Vehicle year-end $0; Transfer from Sewer Districts indirect $5,762; Transfer from Sewer Districts Public Works $31,000; Transfer from Federal Grant blank for 2026; Reserves $4,098,000; Revenue adjustment blank for 2026; In Lieu $435,864; Interest on Idle Funds $7,500,000; Neighborhood Revitalization Rebate $0.

Expenditures: department subtotal $155,666,965 + Cash Reserve $47,841,191 + Miscellaneous $523,000 = total $204,031,156 (exact). Tax Required $115,985,224 + 1.4% delinquent compensation $1,623,793 = ad valorem $117,609,017.

Department2026 amount
Department of Corrections$39,855,216
Sheriff$26,540,589
Parks & Recreation$19,211,896
Public Works$10,306,628
District Attorney$8,782,720
General Administration$8,651,247
Allocations$8,275,036
Debt Service (departmental line inside the General Fund, not the outstanding-debt statement)$6,856,154
Information Technology$5,150,936
Health Department$3,553,098
District Court$3,161,737
Appraiser$2,426,496
Elections Commissioner$2,312,195
Community Corrections$1,610,874
Facilities Management$1,389,966
County Clerk$1,030,684
County Counselor$994,562
Human Resources$726,778
Audit Finance$709,915
Medical Examiner$707,840
Emergency Management$661,734
Board of County Commissioners$643,477
Planning$537,201
Noxious Weeds$455,674
Register of Deeds$383,354
Treasurer$730,958
Other$0
Department subtotal$155,666,965

Source: Shawnee County 2026 adopted budget, General Fund pages (printed pp. 6/6a).

Funds — adopted 2026

Every fund line from the certificate. Authorities sum exactly to $240,007,805; ad valorem $117,609,017 + $92,802 = $117,701,819; rates 48.872 + 0.039 = 48.911 — all three reconcile exactly.

Fund2026 authority2025 ad valoremFinal rate
General$204,031,156$117,609,01748.872
Special Liability$582,209$92,8020.039
Transient Guest Tax$300,000——
Special Alcohol & Drug Prog$60,000——
911 Telephone$2,528,731——
Solid Waste$20,004,311——
Public Building Commission$12,000,966——
Certificates of Participation$16,500——
Coronavirus Relief Fund$483,932——
Total, all funds$240,007,805$117,701,81948.911

Source: Shawnee County 2026 adopted budget, certificate p. 1.

Other funds — detail

911 Telephone (printed p. 9): January 1 cash $928,731 + 911 Fees $1,600,000 = resources $2,528,731; expenditures Services and Fees $1,400,000 + Debt Service $500,000 + Cash Reserve $628,731 = $2,528,731, matching the certificate.

Solid Waste (printed p. 9): January 1 cash $13,755,515 + receipts $18,523,725 (Charges $17,804,236; Interest $688,424; Miscellaneous $31,065) = resources $32,279,240; expenditures $20,004,311 (Personnel $9,531,531; Services and Fees $5,186,670; Supplies and Materials $1,506,090; Bad Debt $71,000; Capital Outlay $2,269,000; Transfer to General Fund $320,020; Transfer to Retirement $0; Cash Reserve $1,000,000; Miscellaneous $120,000); December 31 cash $12,274,929. Resources exceed expenditures by the printed ending balance — not a discrepancy.

Coronavirus Relief (printed p. 11): January 1 cash $273,932 + receipts $210,000 (Interest Revenue $200,000; Interest on Idle $10,000; Grant $0) = resources $483,932; expenditures $483,932 (Personnel $258,932; Transfer out to County Projects $225,000), matching the certificate. A blank second fund table on the same page (all 2026 figures 0) was not attributed to any fund and is not reported as a fund. Non-General fund pages other than those cross-checked here come from the certificate table.

Source: Shawnee County 2026 adopted budget, fund pages (printed pp. 9, 11).

Debt

Statement of Indebtedness (printed p. 4), outstanding January 1, 2025: general obligation $12,151,000 (2013 $505,000; 2015A $1,675,000; 2015C $385,000; 2016A $4,805,000; 2016B $440,000; 2016D $1,355,000; 2018 $705,000; 2019 $1,665,000; 2023 $616,000 — exact); revenue (PBC) $34,710,000 (2018 PBC $17,990,000; 2022 PBC $16,720,000); other $7,280,043 (KDHE $301,376; KDOT $2,550,000; KDHE $4,428,667); total indebtedness $54,141,043 (exact). Due in 2026: interest $1,777,860 ($268,635 + $1,449,100 + $60,125) and principal $7,326,334 ($2,835,000 + $3,360,000 + $1,131,334) — both exact.

Lease-purchases / certificates of participation (p. 5): principal January 1, 2025 total $16,800,692 (2015 COP P&R/DOC Kitchen $10,990,000; 2017 Refunding COP $2,240,000; 2012 COP 911/VanBuren Bldg $1,195,000; Fleet-Enterprise $568,885; P&R Mowers $461,221; PR Golf Carts $898,784; SH Aircraft Fleet $396,759; P&R Golf Mowers $30,913; SVEC Forklifts $19,130); payments due in 2026 total $3,115,753 (exact).

Debt scope note — not an error: the hearing-notice debt summary (p. 25) shows January 1 totals of 2023 $86,150,787; 2024 $76,842,856; 2025 $70,941,735. The 2025 hearing-notice figure equals the statement total plus lease-purchase principal: $54,141,043 + $16,800,692 = $70,941,735. The two totals differ in scope (statement total excludes lease-purchases; the hearing-notice summary includes them), so both are reported with this explanation rather than reconciled into one number.

Source: Shawnee County 2026 adopted budget, Statement of Indebtedness (printed p. 4), lease-purchases (p. 5), and hearing notice (p. 25).

Proposed vs. final — read the labels

The hearing notice (Topeka Metro News, August 25, 2025; meeting September 8, 2025, 9:00 a.m., Shawnee County Commission Office, 707 SE Quincy, Topeka, KS 66603) is a proposal, not the adoption. Proposed: authority $237,949,806; ad valorem $118,200,708; proposed rate 49.164 mills; less transfers $350,000; net expenditure $237,599,806; assessed valuation in the proposed column $2,404,254,778; revenue-neutral rate 46.211; proposed General authority $204,173,157, ad valorem $118,107,906, rate 49.125.

Final (certificate p. 1 — the adopted figures): authority $240,007,805; ad valorem $117,701,819; final rate 48.911 mills (General 48.872 + Special Liability 0.039). The difference is proposal (earlier valuation) vs. final (November 1, 2025 valuation $2,406,507,578). Only the certificate figures are presented as adopted anywhere on this page.

Source: Shawnee County 2026 adopted budget, hearing notice p. 25 and certificate p. 1.

Sources & notes

  • Only source used: Shawnee County adopted budget for 2026 (county PDF via the Shawnee County Clerk budgets page). Shawnee County Clerk budgets page. Figures were read visually from the budget PDF because the file is an image-only scan; page numbers cited are PDF-viewer pages, and printed page numbers diverge after the General Fund (911/Solid Waste printed p. 9 = PDF p. 15; Coronavirus Relief printed p. 11 = PDF p. 17; hearing notice PDF p. 25; resolution PDF p. 27).
  • Sum checks: certificate authorities exact ($240,007,805); certificate ad valorem exact ($117,609,017 + $92,802 = $117,701,819); certificate rates exact (48.872 + 0.039 = 48.911); General Fund resources exact ($47,841,191 + $40,204,741 = $88,045,932); General Fund expenditures exact ($155,666,965 + $47,841,191 + $523,000 = $204,031,156); General Fund tax walk exact ($115,985,224 + $1,623,793 = $117,609,017); department lines exact ($155,666,965); debt exact ($54,141,043) and lease-purchase principal exact ($16,800,692); debt scope identity exact ($54,141,043 + $16,800,692 = $70,941,735); 911, Solid Waste, and Coronavirus Relief fund walks exact.
  • What is not claimed: no secondary-source total is presented as an adopted figure; the p. 17 blank second fund table (all 2026 figures 0) is not reported as a fund; Resolution 2025-69 (Sewer District #2) concerns a separate district, not the county budget, and is not used; Resolution 2025-68 authorizes exceeding the revenue-neutral rate but does not state the final levy.
  • Jurisdiction palette: no verified Shawnee County palette was on file, so this page uses the neutral Hometown Numbers dark-glass theme rather than a county color.

← Back to Kansas