Hill City, Kansas
← Kansas
Unofficial demonstration dashboard

Hill City, Kansas

Presented through its audited financial statement for the year ended December 31, 2024. This is the City of Hill City, Kansas — the county seat of Graham County — not the county itself and not any other Hill City.

Basis — read this first: Every figure on this page comes from the City’s audited financial statement for the year ended December 31, 2024 (Mapes & Miller LLP, August 18, 2025), prepared on the Kansas Municipal Audit and Accounting Guide (KMAAG) regulatory basis: adverse opinion on U.S. GAAP, unmodified opinion on the regulatory basis. Figures are audited actuals, not budget authority, except where a budget comparison is stated. This is a dated basis (2024). No hero photograph is shown: no freely-licensed photograph of Hill City itself was verified in this build, and no generic substitute is used. The statement’s landscape summary table did not extract legibly, so this page presents the General Fund schedule and note figures that re-add exactly, and does not state a city-wide receipts or expenditures total.

Overview

The City of Hill City’s General Fund closed 2024 at $749,287 unencumbered, up $57,786 on the year: receipts of $1,013,067 against expenditures of $955,281, on a $691,501 opening balance. The largest General Fund receipts were ad valorem property tax ($496,527), sales and compensating use tax ($293,208), motor vehicle tax ($91,793) and interest on idle funds ($46,048). The largest General Fund spending was the police department ($327,645), followed by operating transfers out ($210,000) and the street department ($124,406).

Source: City of Hill City 2024 financial statement, Schedule 2 and Notes 2–3.

At a glance

$749,287
General Fund ending unencumbered cash
$1,013,067
General Fund receipts, 2024
$955,281
General Fund expenditures, 2024
$57,786
General Fund surplus, 2024
$327,645
Police department expenditures, 2024
$5,155,505
Carrying amount of deposits, Dec 31, 2024

Source: City of Hill City 2024 financial statement, Schedule 2 and Notes 2–3.

Funds

General Fund walk: $691,501 + $1,013,067 − $955,281 = $749,287. The table below is the General Fund’s department breakdown; its rows sum exactly to total expenditures of $955,281.

FundReceiptsExpendituresEnding unencumbered
General Administration—$77,264—
Police Department—$327,645—
Legal—$18,516—
Airport, Parks, and Cemetery—$82,591—
Fire Department—$21,327—
Street Department—$124,406—
Oil Museum—$1,913—
Swimming Pool—$47,212—
Scout House—$3,347—
Other (incl. Chamber/Growing Graham County $41,060)—$41,060—
Operating transfers out—$210,000—
General Fund — TOTAL$1,013,067$955,281$749,287

Disclosure — printed variance gap: the schedule’s printed total expenditure variance is $(311,067), but the department variances sum to $(310,470) — a $597 difference equal to the Scout House variance. This page uses the department actuals and budgets, which sum exactly to $955,281 and $1,265,751, and flags the printed total-variance line rather than repeating it. Disclosure — budget violation: the audit’s Note 2 states that Airport Fund expenditures exceeded the published budget amount, in violation of K.S.A. 79-2935; the Airport Fund took in $209,891 of receipts in 2024. Disclosure — deposits: at December 31, 2024 the City’s carrying amount of deposits was $5,155,505 and the bank balance was $5,186,636, of which $634,494 was covered by federal depository insurance and $4,552,142 collateralized — those two sum exactly to the bank balance.

Source: City of Hill City 2024 financial statement, Schedule 2 and Notes 2–3.

Debt & notes

No long-term debt total is stated on this page: the audit’s long-term debt note table did not extract legibly, and this page does not guess at it. Two quantified items from the notes are stated instead: the City’s proportionate share of the KPERS collective net pension liability was $688,845 at December 31, 2024, which is not reported in the regulatory-basis statement because KMAAG does not recognize long-term debt; and capital-project authorizations against spending to date were Airport Runway $4,474,701 authorized / $4,354,611 spent and Water Improvement Project $842,250 authorized / $663,368 spent. Cash balances on this page are therefore not net of debt.

Source: City of Hill City 2024 financial statement, Schedule 2 and Notes 2–3.

Sources & notes

  • Source used: City of Hill City, Kansas, financial statement, December 31, 2024 (Mapes & Miller LLP, August 18, 2025) Read the source document.
  • Sum checks: General Fund $691,501 + $1,013,067 − $955,281 = $749,287; departments $77,264 + $327,645 + $18,516 + $82,591 + $21,327 + $124,406 + $1,913 + $47,212 + $3,347 + $41,060 + $210,000 = $955,281; deposits $634,494 + $4,552,142 = $5,186,636.
  • Identity: this is the City of Hill City, Kansas (Graham County seat).
  • Photo: none — no freely-licensed photograph of Hill City was verified in this build; the dashboard ships without a hero figure rather than with a substitute. (An 1888–1899 Kansas Historical Society photograph of the former courthouse, razed in 1959, was found but its reuse license was not established, so it is not used.)
  • Jurisdiction palette: no verified palette was on file for this jurisdiction, so this page uses the neutral Hometown Numbers dark-glass theme rather than a jurisdiction color.

← Back to Kansas