Geary County
← Kansas
Unofficial demonstration dashboard

Geary County, Kansas

Unofficial demonstration dashboard for Geary County, Kansas, built from its audited financial statement for the year ended December 31, 2025.

Basis — read this first: every figure on this page comes from the County's audited financial statement for the year ended December 31, 2025 (James Gordon & Associates, available for issue July 13, 2026; unmodified opinion on the Kansas regulatory basis, adverse opinion on U.S. GAAP). All figures are actuals, not budget estimates, and every total below was verified by addition.
Geary County Courthouse in Junction City, Kansas
The Geary County Courthouse, built in 1899, at Junction City.Photo: John Charlton / Kansas Geological Survey (non-commercial/educational reuse with credit) — source

Overview

Geary County's 2025 audit reports a General Fund that spent more than it took in: receipts of $26,607,281 against expenditures of $28,658,832, drawing unencumbered cash down from $12,213,932 to $10,162,381. The county's largest General Fund costs are the Sheriff ($9,208,029), Courthouse General ($3,882,099), Public Works ($3,346,799) and appropriations to outside agencies ($3,482,705). The Public Building Commission — the related entity behind the county hospital bonds — holds $10,954,990 of ending cash, and total contractual indebtedness stands at $49,373,754.

Source: Geary County 2025 audit (county site, PDF).

At a glance — audited actuals, year ended December 31, 2025

$26,607,281
General Fund receipts, actual
$28,658,832
General Fund expenditures, actual
$10,162,381
General Fund ending unencumbered cash
$36,015,262
General Fund 2025 budget (spending came in $7,356,430 under)
$38,723,394
Reporting-entity ending cash, excluding agency funds
$49,373,754
Total contractual indebtedness at December 31, 2025

Source: Geary County 2025 audit, Statement 1 and Schedule 1.

General Fund — audited actuals 2025

Beginning cash $12,213,932 + receipts $26,607,281 − expenditures $28,658,832 = ending cash $10,162,381. The department build below sums exactly to the $28,658,832 total.

ItemAmount
County Attorney$1,685,894
Sheriff$9,208,029
County Clerk$299,934
County Commissioners$180,419
Human Resources$341,783
Courthouse General$3,882,099
GIS / Planning and Zoning$269,662
Finance$324,858
Register of Deeds$253,656
County Treasurer$587,391
District Court$609,376
Emergency Management$236,171
Appraiser$548,975
Election$183,324
Noxious Weed$275,257
Public Works$3,346,799
Appropriations to outside agencies$3,482,705
Transfers out$2,942,500
Total General Fund expenditures, actual$28,658,832

Largest receipts: ad valorem tax $15,955,603 (actual; budget $16,301,856), local sales tax $3,269,987, motor vehicle tax $1,684,873, interest on idle funds $918,089, delinquent tax $911,730.

Source: Geary County 2025 audit, Schedule 2–1.

Major funds — audited actuals 2025

Ending cash below is unencumbered cash; each row's walk (beginning + receipts − expenditures = ending) was verified.

FundReceiptsExpendituresEnding cash
Debt Service$1,890,458$1,963,600$3,200,613
Capital Improvements$2,032,976$1,522,230$4,081,825
Waste Disposal$2,887,073$2,909,893$456,137
Convention and Tourism$723,308$628,682$679,905
Public Building Commission$4,014,827$9,298,306$10,954,990
Health Department$686,860$757,691$13,934
Sports Complex$189,537$0$985,891
Special Bridge$259,903$26,130$761,431

Waste Disposal ending cash of $456,137 plus $217,510 of accounts payable gives $673,647 total cash; Convention and Tourism $679,905 plus $1,464 gives $681,369. Reporting-entity ending cash of $38,723,394 is verified by the statement's own composition: checking $48,262,355 + petty cash $10,750 + municipal investment pool $1,871,201 + certificates of deposit $6,517,074 + Public Building Commission $10,954,990 − agency funds $28,892,976 = $38,723,394.

Source: Geary County 2025 audit, Statement 1.

Debt & notes

County general-obligation bonds outstanding at December 31, 2025: $18,148,754 (beginning $19,473,251 less $1,324,497 of reductions). Public Building Commission revenue bonds: $31,225,000. Total contractual indebtedness: $18,148,754 + $31,225,000 = $49,373,754. The notes also disclose a KPERS net pension liability share of $7,466,300 and a KP&F share of $4,783,592, measured June 30, 2025 — these are not reported in the regulatory-basis statement itself, because the Kansas Municipal Audit and Accounting Guide basis does not recognize long-term debt. Accumulated vacation liability ≈ $841,733 and sick leave ≈ $947,910 are likewise disclosed but not booked.

Source: Geary County 2025 audit, Notes 6, 8 and 9.

Sources & notes

  • Only source used: Geary County, Kansas, Regulatory Basis Financial Statement, December 31, 2025 (James Gordon & Associates, Manhattan, Kansas; available for issue July 13, 2026). Read the audit (PDF).
  • Sum checks: General Fund walk ($12,213,932 + $26,607,281 − $28,658,832 = $10,162,381); the eighteen General Fund department lines sum to $28,658,832; Debt Service ($3,273,755 + $1,890,458 − $1,963,600 = $3,200,613); Capital Improvements ($3,571,079 + $2,032,976 − $1,522,230 = $4,081,825); Public Building Commission ($16,238,469 + $4,014,827 − $9,298,306 = $10,954,990); ending-cash composition sums to $38,723,394; debt ($18,148,754 + $31,225,000 = $49,373,754).
  • Not reported: the audit's summary statement receipts/expenditures walk for the whole reporting entity does not reconcile cleanly in the extracted text, so no entity-wide receipts or expenditures total is claimed here — only the composition-verified ending cash.
  • Jurisdiction palette: no verified Geary County palette was on file, so this page uses the neutral Hometown Numbers dark-glass theme rather than a county color.

← Back to Kansas