City of Tallahassee
← Florida
Unofficial demonstration dashboard

City of Tallahassee, Florida

Unofficial demonstration dashboard for the City of Tallahassee, Florida (Leon County seat), built from the city’s official FY26 Budget in Brief.

Basis — read this first: every figure on this page comes from the City of Tallahassee’s official FY26 Budget in Brief, except where flagged. Flags: the adoption date (September 17, 2025, 4-1 votes) and the $268.2 million capital budget are per the inventory record, not stated in the pulled brief text; a secondary report’s $942 million operating figure is NOT used — the city’s own $924.9 million figure governs.

Overview

The City of Tallahassee’s FY2026 adopted operating budget is $924.9 million across 14 operating funds and more than 350 revenue sources. The General Fund is $225.9 million, up 7.4% from the FY2025 budget of $210.3 million, with property taxes of $77.7 million providing 34.4% of General Fund revenue. The millage rate is 4.4072 mills, down 0.0128 mills from the prior year, and the added revenue funds 20 additional police officers, maintenance of more than 100 parks, and additional sidewalks and roads.

At a glance

$924.9 million
Total adopted operating budget, FY2026
$225.9 million
General Fund, FY2026
$77.7 million
General Fund property taxes (34.4%)
4.4072 mills
Millage rate

Headline budget

Total adopted operating budget, FY2026$924,900,000
General Fund, FY2026$225,900,000
General Fund, FY2025 budget (comparator)$210,300,000
General Fund increase7.4%
General Fund property taxes$77,700,000
Property taxes as share of General Fund34.4%
Millage rate, FY20264.4072 mills
Millage change vs. prior year−0.0128 mills
Capital budget (inventory record)$268,200,000
Operating funds14

Source: City of Tallahassee FY26 Budget in Brief (official OpenGov budget site).

Breakdown

What the city’s Budget in Brief says the FY2026 budget funds (highlights, not a breakdown summing to the total):

Additional police officers20
Parks maintainedmore than 100
Additional sidewalks and roadsFunded from the $6 million property-tax revenue increase
General Fund departments supportedPolice; Parks and Recreation; Public Infrastructure; Planning; Housing; Community Beautification
City share of each property-tax dollar in Leon County22 cents (county 45, schools 31, Children’s Services Council 2)
Homeowner example: city share of a $1,000 tax bill$220
Millage standingAmong the lowest of Florida’s 20 largest cities; third lowest of 12 in the Municipal Cost Comparison

The brief notes the city receives 22 cents of each property-tax dollar, with the remainder going to Leon County, the Leon County School District, the Children’s Services Council, and the Northwest Florida Water Management District.

Elected officials

City of Tallahassee City Commission (adoption September 17, 2025, 4-1 votes, per the inventory record). Individual commissioners are not named in the pulled brief text, so none are listed here.

Sources & notes

  • Sources used: City of Tallahassee FY26 Budget in Brief (city’s official OpenGov budget site): total adopted operating budget $924.9 million; General Fund $225.9 million (+7.4% vs. $210.3 million); property taxes $77.7 million (34.4% of General Fund); millage 4.4072 (down 0.0128); 20 additional police officers; more than 100 parks.
  • Figure flags: a secondary report’s $942 million operating figure differs from the city’s own $924.9 million and is NOT used. The adoption date (September 17, 2025, 4-1) and the $268.2 million capital budget are inventory-record figures, not stated in the pulled brief text. Dollar figures in the brief are rounded to $0.1 million and are shown here rounded as the city states them.
  • Jurisdiction palette: no verified Florida jurisdiction palette was on file, so this page uses the neutral Hometown Numbers dark-glass theme rather than a jurisdiction color.

← Back to Florida