Overview
Santa Cruz County’s FY2025-26 adopted budget totals $1,065,023,439 across governmental funds, plus $289,624,208 in other funds (internal service, enterprise, and special districts) on the sources side. Health and Sanitation is the largest governmental function at $307,878,705, followed by Public Protection at $242,511,374 and Public Assistance at $217,205,555. Intergovernmental revenues of $579,470,249 dominate governmental financing sources. The General Fund alone totals $837,630,755 in financing sources, built from $816,248,227 in additional financing sources plus $19,600,461 in available fund balance and $1,782,067 in obligated-balance decreases.
Source: County of Santa Cruz, Adopted Budget, Fiscal Year 2025-26 (State Controller Schedules 1, 2, 5, 7).
At a glance — FY 2025-26 adopted
No figures match that search.
Source: County of Santa Cruz, Adopted Budget, FY 2025-26 (Schedules 1, 5, 7).
All funds summary, FY 2025-26 adopted
Financing sources by fund group sum exactly to the printed governmental total of $1,065,023,439, and other-funds sources sum exactly to $289,624,208.
| Fund group | Financing sources |
|---|---|
| General Fund | $837,630,755 |
| Special Revenue Funds | $162,208,330 |
| Less Than County Wide Funds | $24,631,301 |
| Capital Projects Funds | $40,553,053 |
| Total governmental funds | $1,065,023,439 |
| Internal Service Funds | $190,355,203 |
| Enterprise Funds | $40,342,092 |
| Special Districts and Other Agencies (sources side) | $58,926,913 |
| Total other funds (sources side) | $289,624,208 |
| Total all funds (sources side) | $1,354,647,647 |
The $9,000 gap: the Special Districts row prints $58,935,913 on the uses side, making total other-funds uses $289,633,208 and total all-funds uses $1,354,656,647 — $9,000 above the sources side. The governmental side balances exactly (uses $1,046,811,618 + obligated-fund-balance increases $18,211,821 = $1,065,023,439).
Governmental financing uses by function (adopted): General Government $115,734,145; Public Protection $242,511,374; Public Ways and Facilities $116,401,360; Health and Sanitation $307,878,705; Public Assistance $217,205,555; Education $10,016,886; Recreation and Cultural Services $18,568,640; Debt Services $31,562,005; Reserves −$21,399,381 (a negative reserve use). Those sum to $1,038,479,289; plus appropriations for contingencies $8,332,329 = $1,046,811,618; plus provisions for obligated fund balances $18,211,821 = $1,065,023,439 (exact).
Governmental financing sources by source sum exactly to $1,012,532,831: Taxes $222,076,954; Licenses, Permits and Franchises $17,483,757; Fines, Forfeitures & Assessments $8,566,097; Revenue from Use of Money & Property $13,131,410; Intergovernmental Revenues $579,470,249; Charges for Services $112,191,517; Miscellaneous Revenues $15,601,971; Other Financing Sources $44,010,876. Appropriations limit: $743,154,153; appropriations subject to limit: $313,154,315.
Source: County of Santa Cruz, Adopted Budget, FY 2025-26 (Schedules 1, 2, 5, 7).
General Fund, FY 2025-26 adopted
The General Fund balances exactly on both sides: available fund balance $19,600,461 + decreases to obligated fund balances $1,782,067 + additional financing sources $816,248,227 = total financing sources $837,630,755; financing uses $824,318,801 + increases to obligated fund balances $13,311,954 = $837,630,755.
General Fund taxes total $198,273,000 (Schedule 6 printed total). Largest components: Property Tax — Current Secured (General) $84,512,000; Property Tax in Lieu of VLF $46,701,000; Sales & Use Tax — unincorporated area 1% $13,932,000; Sales-Use Tax — Measure G 1/2 cent $10,723,000; Sales-Use Tax — Measure K 1/2 cent $10,702,000; Transient Occupancy Tax $14,635,000; Residual Distribution $6,860,000. These are the largest lines only, not a full tax breakdown.
Source: County of Santa Cruz, Adopted Budget, FY 2025-26 (Schedules 1, 6).
Elected officials
The county is governed by a five-member elected Board of Supervisors; the current Chair is Monica Martinez (5th District).
| District 1 Supervisor | Manu Koenig |
| District 2 Supervisor | Kimberly De Serpa |
| District 3 Supervisor | Justin Cummings |
| District 4 Supervisor | Felipe Hernandez |
| District 5 Supervisor (Chair) | Monica Martinez |
| County Executive Officer (named in adopted book) | Carlos J. Palacios |
| Auditor-Controller-Treasurer-Tax Collector (named in adopted book) | Laura Bowers |
Sources: County of Santa Cruz, County Services (Board of Supervisors); Adopted Budget, FY 2025-26 (preface).
Board meetings
The Board of Supervisors meets on Tuesdays at 9:00 a.m., on dates set by the Board’s calendar — not every Tuesday. Meeting locations vary; see the agenda for the location of a given meeting.
County of Santa Cruz Clerk of the Board (agendas and minutes)
No next meeting date is asserted here — see the official agendas for the next scheduled date and location.
Livability — Santa Cruz County
Santa Cruz County scores 53.9 on the Hometown Numbers Livability Index, ranked #19 of 58 ranked California counties. Violent crime: 362.4 reported violent crimes per 100,000 residents in 2024 (FBI Crime Data Explorer; score 74.6, where a higher score means a lower rate). Full rankings: California livability rankings.
| Component | Value | Score (0–100) |
|---|---|---|
| Housing affordability (median home value ÷ median household income) | 9.25 | 7.8 |
| Median household income | $111,093 | 81.9 |
| Mean commute time | 25.7 minutes | 49.1 |
| Violent crime (reported crimes per 100,000 residents) | 362.4 | 74.6 |
| High school graduation rate | 87.1% | 43.8 |
| Uninsured rate | 6.5% | 66.4 |
| Unemployment rate | Not retrievable (see note) | — |
Method: percentile rank (count below + 0.5 × count equal) ÷ N × 100, lower-better measures inverted; composite is the mean of available component scores, rounded to 1 decimal; a county needs at least 5 of 7 components or it is unranked, never estimated. Vintages: ACS 2024 5-year (2020–2024) for housing affordability, income, and commute; FBI Crime Data Explorer 2024 for violent crime; County Health Rankings 2025 release for graduation and uninsured. Unemployment (BLS LAUS 2024) is missing for every California county because the BLS public API was unreachable (HTTP 503) on 2026-10-25; composites rest on the other components and will be recomputed if BLS data becomes available.
Housing prices — Santa Cruz County
County-level figures for Santa Cruz County.
| Median home value | $1,027,500 |
| Median gross rent | $2,264 per month |
Source: American Community Survey 2024 5-year estimates (2020–2024), tables B25077 (median home value) and B25064 (median gross rent).
Public schools — Santa Cruz County
Schools physically located in Santa Cruz County.
83 public schools in 19 school districts, from the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES EDGE Public School Locations, 2024–25 school year).
| School | Level | District | City |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alianza Charter | Elementary (KG-08) | Pajaro Valley Unified | Watsonville |
| Alternative Family Education | Other (KG-12) | Santa Cruz City High | Santa Cruz |
| Amesti Elementary | Elementary (KG-05) | Pajaro Valley Unified | Watsonville |
| Ann Soldo Elementary | Elementary (KG-05) | Pajaro Valley Unified | Watsonville |
| Aptos High | High (09-12) | Pajaro Valley Unified | Aptos |
| Aptos Junior High | Middle (07-08) | Pajaro Valley Unified | Aptos |
| Ark Independent Studies | High (06-12) | Santa Cruz City High | Santa Cruz |
| Bay View Elementary | Elementary (KG-05) | Santa Cruz City Elementary | Santa Cruz |
| Bonny Doon Elementary | Elementary (KG-06) | Bonny Doon Union Elementary | Santa Cruz |
| Boulder Creek Elementary | Elementary (KG-05) | San Lorenzo Valley Unified | Boulder Creek |
| Bradley Elementary | Elementary (KG-06) | Pajaro Valley Unified | Watsonville |
| Branciforte Middle | Middle (06-08) | Santa Cruz City High | Santa Cruz |
| Brook Knoll Elementary | Elementary (KG-05) | Scotts Valley Unified | Santa Cruz |
| C. T. English Middle | Middle (06-08) | Loma Prieta Joint Union Elementary | Los Gatos |
| Calabasas Elementary | Elementary (KG-06) | Pajaro Valley Unified | Watsonville |
| California Online Public Schools Monterey Bay | Other (KG-12) | California Online Public Schools Monterey Bay District | Scotts Valley |
| Ceiba College Preparatory Academy | High (06-12) | Ceiba College Preparatory Academy District | Watsonville |
| Cesar E. Chavez Middle | Middle (06-08) | Pajaro Valley Unified | Watsonville |
| Costanoa Continuation High | High (09-12) | Santa Cruz City High | Santa Cruz |
| De Laveaga Elementary | Elementary (KG-05) | Santa Cruz City Elementary | Santa Cruz |
| Del Mar Elementary | Elementary (KG-05) | Live Oak Elementary | Santa Cruz |
| Delta Charter | High (09-12) | Santa Cruz City High | Aptos |
| Diamond Technology Institute | High (09-12) | Pajaro Valley Unified | Watsonville |
| Duncan Holbert | Not Reported | Pajaro Valley Unified | Watsonville |
| E. A. Hall Middle | Middle (06-08) | Pajaro Valley Unified | Watsonville |
| Freedom Elementary | Elementary (KG-05) | Pajaro Valley Unified | Freedom |
| Gault Elementary | Elementary (KG-05) | Santa Cruz City Elementary | Santa Cruz |
| Green Acres Elementary | Elementary (KG-05) | Live Oak Elementary | Santa Cruz |
| H. A. Hyde Elementary | Elementary (KG-05) | Pajaro Valley Unified | Watsonville |
| Happy Valley Elementary | Elementary (KG-06) | Happy Valley Elementary | Santa Cruz |
| Harbor High | High (09-12) | Santa Cruz City High | Santa Cruz |
| Lakeview Middle | Middle (06-08) | Pajaro Valley Unified | Watsonville |
| Landmark Elementary | Elementary (KG-05) | Pajaro Valley Unified | Watsonville |
| Linscott Charter | Elementary (KG-08) | Pajaro Valley Unified | Watsonville |
| Live Oak Elementary | Elementary (KG-05) | Live Oak Elementary | Santa Cruz |
| Loma Prieta Elementary | Elementary (KG-05) | Loma Prieta Joint Union Elementary | Los Gatos |
| Ludlow Preschool | Not Reported | San Lorenzo Valley Unified | Felton |
| Main Street Elementary | Elementary (KG-05) | Soquel Union Elementary | Soquel |
| Mar Vista Elementary | Elementary (KG-06) | Pajaro Valley Unified | Aptos |
| Mintie White Elementary | Elementary (KG-05) | Pajaro Valley Unified | Watsonville |
| Mission Hill Middle | Middle (06-08) | Santa Cruz City High | Santa Cruz |
| Mountain Elementary | Elementary (KG-06) | Mountain Elementary | Soquel |
| New Brighton Middle | Middle (06-08) | Soquel Union Elementary | Capitola |
| New School Community Day | High (09-12) | Pajaro Valley Unified | Watsonville |
| Ocean Alternative Education Center | Elementary (KG-08) | Live Oak Elementary | Santa Cruz |
| Ocean Grove Charter | Other (KG-12) | Ocean Grove Charter District | Boulder Creek |
| Opal Cliffs | — | Soquel Union Elementary | Capitola |
| PVUSD Virtual Academy | Other (KG-12) | Pajaro Valley Unified | Watsonville |
| Pacific Coast Charter | Other (KG-12) | Pajaro Valley Unified | Watsonville |
| Pacific Collegiate Charter | High (07-12) | Pacific Collegiate Charter District | Santa Cruz |
| Pacific Elementary | Elementary (KG-06) | Pacific Elementary | Davenport |
| Pajaro Valley High | High (09-12) | Pajaro Valley Unified | Watsonville |
| Radcliff Elementary | Elementary (KG-05) | Pajaro Valley Unified | Watsonville |
| Renaissance High Continuation | High (09-12) | Pajaro Valley Unified | La Selva Beach |
| Rio del Mar Elementary | Elementary (KG-06) | Pajaro Valley Unified | Aptos |
| Rolling Hills Middle | Middle (06-08) | Pajaro Valley Unified | Watsonville |
| SLVUSD Charter | Other (KG-12) | San Lorenzo Valley Unified | Ben Lomond |
| San Lorenzo Valley Elementary | Elementary (KG-05) | San Lorenzo Valley Unified | Felton |
| San Lorenzo Valley High | High (09-12) | San Lorenzo Valley Unified | Felton |
| San Lorenzo Valley Middle | Middle (06-08) | San Lorenzo Valley Unified | Felton |
| Santa Cruz City Elementary Alternative Education-Monarch | Elementary (KG-05) | Santa Cruz City Elementary | Santa Cruz |
| Santa Cruz County Career Advancement Charter | High (12-12) | Santa Cruz County Office of Education | Freedom |
| Santa Cruz County Community | High (07-12) | Santa Cruz County Office of Education | Santa Cruz |
| Santa Cruz County Court | High (07-12) | Santa Cruz County Office of Education | Santa Cruz |
| Santa Cruz County ROP | High (10-12) | Santa Cruz County ROP | Santa Cruz |
| Santa Cruz County Special Education | Other (KG-12) | Santa Cruz County Office of Education | Santa Cruz |
| Santa Cruz Gardens Elementary | Elementary (KG-05) | Soquel Union Elementary | Santa Cruz |
| Santa Cruz High | High (09-12) | Santa Cruz City High | Santa Cruz |
| Scotts Valley High | High (09-12) | Scotts Valley Unified | Scotts Valley |
| Scotts Valley Middle | Middle (06-08) | Scotts Valley Unified | Scotts Valley |
| Shoreline Middle | Middle (06-08) | Live Oak Elementary | Santa Cruz |
| Soquel Elementary | Elementary (KG-05) | Soquel Union Elementary | Soquel |
| Soquel High | High (09-12) | Santa Cruz City High | Soquel |
| Special Education Preschool | Not Reported | Live Oak Elementary | Santa Cruz |
| Starlight Elementary | Elementary (KG-05) | Pajaro Valley Unified | Watsonville |
| T. S. MacQuiddy Elementary | Elementary (KG-05) | Pajaro Valley Unified | Watsonville |
| Tierra Pacifica Charter | Elementary (KG-08) | Live Oak Elementary | Santa Cruz |
| Valencia Elementary | Elementary (KG-06) | Pajaro Valley Unified | Aptos |
| Vine Hill Elementary | Elementary (KG-05) | Scotts Valley Unified | Scotts Valley |
| Watsonville Charter School of the Arts | Elementary (KG-08) | Pajaro Valley Unified | Watsonville |
| Watsonville High | High (09-12) | Pajaro Valley Unified | Watsonville |
| Watsonville Prep | Elementary (KG-08) | Watsonville Prep District | Watsonville |
| Westlake Elementary | Elementary (KG-05) | Santa Cruz City Elementary | Santa Cruz |
School performance (proficiency): district-level proficiency values are published in the federal Ed Data Express tool and are retrievable by CSV export, but they have not yet been added to this page — the export requires a live-browser download (direct requests to the tool are blocked), so no proficiency figures are shown rather than substituted ones. Source for the list: NCES EDGE Public School Locations — Current, 2024–25.
Neighbor comparison
How Santa Cruz County’s General Fund spending per resident and fund-balance share compare with adjacent counties, computed from each dashboard’s own published figures.
| Government | Per-capita GF spending | Fund balance % |
|---|---|---|
| Santa Cruz County (this dashboard) | $3,161.75 | — |
| Monterey County | $2,219.19 | — |
| San Benito County | $1,123.23 | — |
| San Mateo County | $5,394.93 | — |
| Santa Clara County | $2,856.57 | — |
GF figure: General Fund financing sources, FY 2025-26 adopted.
Fund-balance % dashed: available fund balance $19,600,461 is beginning, not ending
Monterey County: Fund-balance % dashed: no GF ending balance published ($23,456,768 is fund-balance use/gap, not ending)
San Benito County: Fund-balance % dashed: no GF ending balance published (reserves $7,090,000 + restricted $5,065,000 are capital-component reserves)
San Mateo County: Fund-balance % dashed: June 30, 2025 total fund balance $1,648,119,840 is prior-year, not FY 2025-26 ending
Santa Clara County: Fund-balance % dashed: no GF ending balance published
Per-capita GF spending = the dashboard’s published General Fund total ÷ county population (ACS 2024 5-year, table B01003). Fund balance % = published GF ending balance ÷ GF total for the same fiscal year unless noted.
— in the fund-balance column means no GF ending balance is published on that dashboard (adopted budgets typically state only a January 1 balance).
Neighbor rows are county figures for the counties adjacent to the home county (U.S. Census Bureau County Adjacency File, 2024; out-of-state neighbors excluded).
Sources & notes
- Sources used: County of Santa Cruz, Adopted Budget, Fiscal Year 2025-26 — State Controller Schedule 1 (All Funds Summary), Schedule 2 (Governmental Funds Summary), Schedule 5 (Additional Financing Sources by Source and Fund), Schedule 6 (Detail of Additional Sources), Schedule 7 (Financing Uses by Function and Fund). Adopted budget book.
- Sum checks: governmental sources by fund group exact; other-funds sources exact; governmental uses by function exact after the negative reserves line; governmental sources by source exact; General Fund both sides exact.
- Basis flags: all figures are FY2025-26 Adopted columns; the all-funds totals carry an unresolved $9,000 sources-versus-uses discrepancy located in the Special Districts row (disclosed, printed totals used); the June 2025 proposed figures ($1.23B / $793.5M) are not used; the reserves line in the function table is negative (−$21,399,381), which is what makes the function table sum to its printed total.
- What is not claimed: no department-level budget-unit detail beyond the function and fund summaries is shown; no enterprise- or internal-service-fund detail beyond the Schedule 1 totals is claimed.
- Jurisdiction palette: no verified Santa Cruz County palette was on file, so this page uses the neutral Hometown Numbers dark-glass theme rather than a county color.
