Overview
Nevada County's adopted FY 2025-26 budget totals $415,450,064, a $27.8 million increase over the 2024-25 budget. State and federal funding of $186.4 million provides 45% of expenditures. The budget funds 931.85 FTE positions. Revenues of $391,604,090 leave an implied fund-balance use of $23,845,974, consistent with the brief's statement that approximately $24 million of fund balances is used.
At a glance — FY 2025-26 adopted
No figures match that search.
Revenues — FY 2025-26 (25/26 column, as printed)
| Revenue source | 25/26 |
|---|---|
| Taxes | $81,774,519 |
| Licenses, Permits & Franchises | $7,082,760 |
| Fines, Forfeitures & Penalties | $3,832,555 |
| Use of Money & Property | $14,940,280 |
| Federal/State Intergovernmental | $186,391,189 |
| Charges for Services | $29,288,767 |
| Miscellaneous Revenues | $6,620,837 |
| Other Financing Sources | $61,673,183 |
| Total revenues | $391,604,090 |
The eight rows sum exactly to $391,604,090.
Source: Nevada County FY 2025-2026 Adopted Budget in Brief, revenue table.
Expenditures — FY 2025-26 (25/26 column, as printed)
| Expenditure by object | 25/26 |
|---|---|
| Salaries & Benefits | $165,351,851 |
| Services & Supplies | $132,754,477 |
| Other Charges | $81,012,625 |
| Overhead Cost Allocation Plan | $18,692,611 |
| Capital Assets | $31,540,999 |
| Other Financing Uses | $63,598,705 |
| Interfund Activity | −$77,601,204 |
| Contingency | $100,000 |
| Total expenditures | $415,450,064 |
| Expenditure by function | 25/26 |
|---|---|
| General Government | $25,666,862 |
| Public Protection | $132,665,315 |
| Public Ways & Facilities | $35,560,120 |
| Health & Sanitation | $106,773,738 |
| Public Assistance | $66,622,662 |
| Education, Recreation & Culture | $9,658,560 |
| Enterprises | $15,599,496 |
| Internal Services | $22,903,311 |
| Total expenditures | $415,450,064 |
Both breakdowns sum exactly to the adopted total of $415,450,064.
Source: Nevada County FY 2025-2026 Adopted Budget in Brief, expenditure tables.
Board meetings
The Board of Supervisors meets on the second and fourth Tuesdays of each month at 9:00 a.m. in the Board Chambers, 950 Maidu Avenue, Nevada City.
Nevada County Board of Supervisors agenda center
Regular-pattern dates — check the official calendar for changes.
Livability — Nevada County
Nevada County scores 51.7 on the Hometown Numbers Livability Index, ranked #28 of 58 ranked California counties. Violent crime: 357.0 reported violent crimes per 100,000 residents in 2024 (FBI Crime Data Explorer; score 76.3, where a higher score means a lower rate). Full rankings: California livability rankings.
| Component | Value | Score (0–100) |
|---|---|---|
| Housing affordability (median home value ÷ median household income) | 6.92 | 31.9 |
| Median household income | $89,882 | 54.3 |
| Mean commute time | 23.6 minutes | 68.1 |
| Violent crime (reported crimes per 100,000 residents) | 357.0 | 76.3 |
| High school graduation rate | 80.6% | 9.8 |
| Uninsured rate | 6.2% | 69.8 |
| Unemployment rate | Not retrievable (see note) | — |
Method: percentile rank (count below + 0.5 × count equal) ÷ N × 100, lower-better measures inverted; composite is the mean of available component scores, rounded to 1 decimal; a county needs at least 5 of 7 components or it is unranked, never estimated. Vintages: ACS 2024 5-year (2020–2024) for housing affordability, income, and commute; FBI Crime Data Explorer 2024 for violent crime; County Health Rankings 2025 release for graduation and uninsured. Unemployment (BLS LAUS 2024) is missing for every California county because the BLS public API was unreachable (HTTP 503) on 2026-10-25; composites rest on the other components and will be recomputed if BLS data becomes available.
Housing prices — Nevada County
County-level figures for Nevada County.
| Median home value | $621,800 |
| Median gross rent | $1,677 per month |
Source: American Community Survey 2024 5-year estimates (2020–2024), tables B25077 (median home value) and B25064 (median gross rent).
Public schools — Nevada County
Schools physically located in Nevada County.
46 public schools in 16 school districts, from the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES EDGE Public School Locations, 2024–25 school year).
| School | Level | District | City |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alder Creek Middle | Middle (06-08) | Tahoe-Truckee Unified | Truckee |
| Alta Sierra Elementary | Elementary (KG-05) | Pleasant Ridge Union Elementary | Grass Valley |
| Arete Charter Academy | Elementary (KG-08) | Pleasant Ridge Union Elementary | Grass Valley |
| Bear River High | High (09-12) | Nevada Joint Union High | Grass Valley |
| Bell Hill Academy | Elementary (KG-04) | Grass Valley Elementary | Grass Valley |
| Bitney Prep High | High (09-12) | Nevada County Office of Education | Grass Valley |
| Chicago Park Community Charter | Elementary (KG-08) | Chicago Park Elementary | Grass Valley |
| Chicago Park Elementary | Elementary (KG-08) | Chicago Park Elementary | Grass Valley |
| Clear Creek Elementary | Elementary (KG-08) | Clear Creek Elementary | Grass Valley |
| Cold Stream Alternative | Other (KG-12) | Tahoe-Truckee Unified | Truckee |
| Cottage Hill Elementary | Elementary (KG-05) | Pleasant Ridge Union Elementary | Grass Valley |
| Deer Creek Elementary | Elementary (KG-03) | Nevada City Elementary | Nevada City |
| Donner Trail Elementary | Elementary (KG-05) | Tahoe-Truckee Unified | Kingvale |
| Earle Jamieson Educational Options | High (06-12) | Nevada County Office of Education | Nevada City |
| Early Childhood Education | Not Reported | Nevada County Office of Education | Grass Valley |
| Forest Charter | Other (KG-12) | Nevada County Office of Education | Nevada City |
| Glenshire Elementary | Elementary (KG-05) | Tahoe-Truckee Unified | Truckee |
| Grass Valley Charter | Elementary (KG-08) | Grass Valley Elementary | Grass Valley |
| Grass Valley Preschool | Not Reported | Grass Valley Elementary | Grass Valley |
| Grizzly Hill | Elementary (KG-08) | Twin Ridges Elementary | Nevada City |
| John Muir Charter | High (06-12) | John Muir Charter District | Grass Valley |
| Lyman Gilmore Middle | Middle (05-08) | Grass Valley Elementary | Grass Valley |
| Magnolia Intermediate | Middle (06-08) | Pleasant Ridge Union Elementary | Grass Valley |
| Margaret G. Scotten Elementary | Elementary (KG-04) | Grass Valley Elementary | Grass Valley |
| Nevada City School of the Arts | Elementary (KG-08) | Nevada City School of the Arts District | Nevada City |
| Nevada County Special Education | Elementary (KG-08) | Nevada County Office of Education | Nevada City |
| Nevada Union High | High (09-12) | Nevada Joint Union High | Grass Valley |
| North Point Academy | High (09-12) | Nevada Joint Union High | Grass Valley |
| Penn Valley Union Special Education Preschool | Not Reported | Penn Valley Union Elementary | Penn Valley |
| Pleasant Ridge Special Education Preschool | Not Reported | Pleasant Ridge Union Elementary | Grass Valley |
| Ready Springs Elementary | Middle (04-08) | Penn Valley Union Elementary | Penn Valley |
| Seven Hills Intermediate | Middle (04-08) | Nevada City Elementary | Nevada City |
| Sierra Academy of Expeditionary Learning | High (09-12) | Sierra Academy of Expeditionary Learning District | Nevada City |
| Sierra Expeditionary Learning | Elementary (KG-08) | Sierra Expeditionary Learning District | Truckee |
| Sierra High (Continuation) | High (09-12) | Tahoe-Truckee Unified | Truckee |
| Silver Springs High (Continuation) | High (09-12) | Nevada Joint Union High | Grass Valley |
| Tahoe Truckee High | High (09-12) | Tahoe-Truckee Unified | Truckee |
| Truckee Elementary | Elementary (KG-05) | Tahoe-Truckee Unified | Truckee |
| Twin Ridges Home Study Charter | Elementary (KG-08) | Nevada County Office of Education | Nevada City |
| Twin Ridges Special Education Preschool | Not Reported | Twin Ridges Elementary | Nevada City |
| Union Hill Elementary | Elementary (KG-06) | Union Hill Elementary | Grass Valley |
| Union Hill Middle | Middle (07-08) | Union Hill Elementary | Grass Valley |
| Vantage Point Charter | Other (KG-12) | Penn Valley Union Elementary | Penn Valley |
| William & Marian Ghidotti High | High (09-12) | Nevada Joint Union High | Grass Valley |
| Williams Ranch Elementary | Elementary (KG-03) | Penn Valley Union Elementary | Penn Valley |
| Yuba River Charter | Elementary (KG-08) | Yuba River Charter District | Grass Valley |
School performance (proficiency): district-level proficiency values are published in the federal Ed Data Express tool and are retrievable by CSV export, but they have not yet been added to this page — the export requires a live-browser download (direct requests to the tool are blocked), so no proficiency figures are shown rather than substituted ones. Source for the list: NCES EDGE Public School Locations — Current, 2024–25.
Neighbor comparison
How Nevada County’s General Fund spending per resident and fund-balance share compare with adjacent counties, computed from each dashboard’s own published figures.
| Government | Per-capita GF spending | Fund balance % |
|---|---|---|
| Nevada County (this dashboard) | — | — |
| Placer County | $1,088.70 | — |
| Sierra County | $5,857.89 | 20.11% |
| Yuba County | — | — |
GF total dashed: no GF breakdown published (in-brief gives all-funds totals only)
Fund-balance % dashed: no GF ending balance published
Placer County: Fund-balance % dashed: no GF ending balance published
Yuba County: GF total dashed: no GF total extracted (staff report gives adopted totals/contributions/reserves but no GF total)
Yuba County: Fund-balance % dashed: no GF ending balance published (reserves are reserves, not ending)
Per-capita GF spending = the dashboard’s published General Fund total ÷ county population (ACS 2024 5-year, table B01003). Fund balance % = published GF ending balance ÷ GF total for the same fiscal year unless noted.
— in the fund-balance column means no GF ending balance is published on that dashboard (adopted budgets typically state only a January 1 balance).
Neighbor rows are county figures for the counties adjacent to the home county (U.S. Census Bureau County Adjacency File, 2024; out-of-state neighbors excluded).
Sources & notes
- Only source used: Nevada County FY 2025-2026 Adopted Budget in Brief. Read the Budget in Brief.
- Sum checks: revenues sum exactly to $391,604,090; expenditures by object and by function each sum exactly to $415,450,064; $415,450,064 − $391,604,090 = $23,845,974 implied fund-balance use, consistent with the brief's "approximately $24 million."
- Disclosed, not smoothed: the in-brief's tables label the 25/26 column "Proposed," while the column total equals the adopted $415,450,064 stated in the brief's text and in the inventory record — this page uses the adopted total and labels the column as printed.
- Fiscal-year label: FY 2025-26 (July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026); adopted June 24, 2025.
- Page accent: #213D3D, the County of Nevada’s official site theme color (nevadacountyca.gov); the dark-theme accent (#9CC9C9) is a lightened tint of the same color for contrast on the dark background.