Overview
Lassen County’s FY2025-26 adopted budget shows projected expenditures of $156,647,029 against projected revenues (estimated financing sources) of $139,310,146. With an estimated fund balance of $103,878,239, total available funds are $243,188,385, leaving a projected balance of $86,541,356. The budget was adopted by the Board of Supervisors on September 23, 2025, under Legistar File 477-25. The General Fund operating subtotal (Fund No. 100) is $25,199,338 on both the available-funds and the recommended sides, with a projected balance of $0, and a further $9,555,730 of General Fund contribution is earmarked for Public Safety (Fund 130).
At a glance — FY 2025-26
No figures match that search.
Source: County of Lassen, Legistar File 477-25, Fund Summary TOTAL row and memo.
All funds summary, FY 2025-26
Both sum-checks on the Fund Summary TOTAL row hold exactly: estimated fund balance plus estimated financing sources equals total available funds, and total available funds minus Draft CAO Recommended expenditures equals the projected balance.
| Fund summary line (TOTAL row) | Amount |
|---|---|
| Estimated fund balance | $103,878,239 |
| Estimated financing sources (projected revenues) | $139,310,146 |
| Total available funds | $243,188,385 |
| Draft CAO Recommended (projected expenditures) | $156,647,029 |
| Projected balance | $86,541,356 |
General Fund, FY 2025-26
The General Fund operating subtotal (Fund No. 100) balances exactly on the recommended side: estimated fund balance plus estimated financing sources equals total available funds, and the Draft CAO Recommended figure equals total available funds, leaving a projected balance of $0. Department requests of $25,320,589 exceed the recommended figure by $121,251 on these printed lines; that difference is arithmetic on the printed lines, not a claim about any balancing action. Separately, a General Fund contribution of $9,555,730 is earmarked for Public Safety (Fund 130).
| General Fund line | Estimated fund balance | Estimated financing sources | Total available funds | Department requests | Draft CAO Recommended | Projected balance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GENERAL OPERATING SUBTOTAL, Fund No. 100 | $2,921,661 | $22,277,677 | $25,199,338 | $25,320,589 | $25,199,338 | $0 |
| General Fund contribution | Amount |
|---|---|
| Public Safety earmark, Fund 130 | $9,555,730 |
Elected officials
The supervisors and officers below are named in the Legistar record for File 477-25 and its attachments. Districts are shown as recorded; no officials have been added from any other source.
| Board of Supervisors, District 1 | Mike Scanlan |
| Board of Supervisors, District 2 | Gary Bridges |
| Board of Supervisors, District 3 | Tom Neely |
| Board of Supervisors, District 4 | Aaron Albaugh |
| Board of Supervisors, District 5 | Jason Ingram |
| County Administrative Officer | Maurice Anderson |
| Clerk of the Board | Julie Bustamante |
Source: County of Lassen, Legistar File 477-25 (Legistar record and attachments).
Board meetings
The Board of Supervisors meets on Tuesdays, on dates set by the board’s adopted schedule, beginning at 9:00 a.m. in the Board Chambers, 707 Nevada Street, Susanville.
Next meeting: Tuesday, October 27, 2026, 9:00 a.m.
Lassen County Board of Supervisors agenda (with proposed 2026 meeting dates)
Livability — Lassen County
Lassen County scores 65.4 on the Hometown Numbers Livability Index, ranked #4 of 58 ranked California counties. Violent crime: 449.5 reported violent crimes per 100,000 residents in 2024 (FBI Crime Data Explorer; score 53.5, where a higher score means a lower rate). Full rankings: California livability rankings.
| Component | Value | Score (0–100) |
|---|---|---|
| Housing affordability (median home value ÷ median household income) | 3.94 | 97.4 |
| Median household income | $67,403 | 21.6 |
| Mean commute time | 19.5 minutes | 94.0 |
| Violent crime (reported crimes per 100,000 residents) | 449.5 | 53.5 |
| High school graduation rate | 87.7% | 49.1 |
| Uninsured rate | 6.0% | 76.7 |
| Unemployment rate | Not retrievable (see note) | — |
Method: percentile rank (count below + 0.5 × count equal) ÷ N × 100, lower-better measures inverted; composite is the mean of available component scores, rounded to 1 decimal; a county needs at least 5 of 7 components or it is unranked, never estimated. Vintages: ACS 2024 5-year (2020–2024) for housing affordability, income, and commute; FBI Crime Data Explorer 2024 for violent crime; County Health Rankings 2025 release for graduation and uninsured. Unemployment (BLS LAUS 2024) is missing for every California county because the BLS public API was unreachable (HTTP 503) on 2026-10-25; composites rest on the other components and will be recomputed if BLS data becomes available.
Housing prices — Lassen County
County-level figures for Lassen County.
| Median home value | $265,300 |
| Median gross rent | $1,000 per month |
Source: American Community Survey 2024 5-year estimates (2020–2024), tables B25077 (median home value) and B25064 (median gross rent).
Public schools — Lassen County
Schools physically located in Lassen County.
25 public schools in 14 school districts, from the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES EDGE Public School Locations, 2024–25 school year).
| School | Level | District | City |
|---|---|---|---|
| Big Valley Elementary | Elementary (KG-07) | Big Valley Joint Unified | Bieber |
| Big Valley Jr. Sr. High | High (07-12) | Big Valley Joint Unified | Bieber |
| Credence High | High (09-12) | Lassen Union High | Susanville |
| Diamond View Middle | Middle (06-08) | Susanville Elementary | Susanville |
| Fletcher Walker Elementary | Elementary (KG-08) | Westwood Unified | Westwood |
| Fort Sage Middle | Middle (07-08) | Fort Sage Unified | Herlong |
| Herlong High | High (09-12) | Fort Sage Unified | Herlong |
| Janesville Elementary | Elementary (KG-08) | Janesville Union Elementary | Janesville |
| Johnstonville Elementary | Elementary (KG-08) | Johnstonville Elementary | Susanville |
| Juniper Ridge Elementary | Elementary (KG-08) | Ravendale-Termo Elementary | Termo |
| Lassen Community Day | High (09-12) | Lassen Union High | Susanville |
| Lassen County Special Education | Other (KG-12) | Lassen County Office of Education | Susanville |
| Lassen High | High (09-12) | Lassen Union High | Susanville |
| Lassen ROP | High (11-12) | Lassen ROP | Susanville |
| Long Valley | Other (KG-12) | Long Valley District | Doyle |
| McKinley Elementary | Elementary (KG-02) | Susanville Elementary | Susanville |
| Meadow View | Elementary (03-05) | Susanville Elementary | Susanville |
| Mt. Lassen Charter | Other (KG-12) | Fort Sage Unified | Herlong |
| Richmond Elementary | Elementary (KG-08) | Richmond Elementary | Susanville |
| Shaffer Elementary | Elementary (KG-08) | Shaffer Union Elementary | Litchfield |
| Sierra Primary | Elementary (KG-06) | Fort Sage Unified | Herlong |
| Susanville State Preschool | Not Reported | Lassen County Office of Education | Susanville |
| Thompson Peak Charter | Other (KG-12) | Thompson Peak Charter District | Susanville |
| Westwood High | High (09-12) | Westwood Unified | Westwood |
| Westwood State Preschool | Not Reported | Lassen County Office of Education | Westwood |
School performance (proficiency): district-level proficiency values are published in the federal Ed Data Express tool and are retrievable by CSV export, but they have not yet been added to this page — the export requires a live-browser download (direct requests to the tool are blocked), so no proficiency figures are shown rather than substituted ones. Source for the list: NCES EDGE Public School Locations — Current, 2024–25.
Neighbor comparison
How Lassen County’s General Fund spending per resident and fund-balance share compare with adjacent counties, computed from each dashboard’s own published figures.
| Government | Per-capita GF spending | Fund balance % |
|---|---|---|
| Lassen County (this dashboard) | $830.13 | 0.0% |
| Shasta County | $1,220.82 | — |
| Sierra County | $5,857.89 | 20.11% |
| Modoc County (no dashboard yet) | — | — |
| Plumas County (no dashboard yet) | — | — |
GF figure: General Fund operating subtotal (Fund No. 100), FY 2025-26 (available = CAO recommended).
Fund balance: Fund No. 100 projected balance, as printed ($0).
Shasta County: Fund-balance % dashed: carryover $45.2M is beginning, not ending
Modoc County: No Modoc County dashboard in this dataset (no county GF figure exists here); a city dashboard in the county, if any, does not supply a county figure.
Plumas County: No Plumas County dashboard in this dataset (no county GF figure exists here); a city dashboard in the county, if any, does not supply a county figure.
Per-capita GF spending = the dashboard’s published General Fund total ÷ county population (ACS 2024 5-year, table B01003). Fund balance % = published GF ending balance ÷ GF total for the same fiscal year unless noted.
— in the fund-balance column means no GF ending balance is published on that dashboard (adopted budgets typically state only a January 1 balance).
Neighbor rows are county figures for the counties adjacent to the home county (U.S. Census Bureau County Adjacency File, 2024; out-of-state neighbors excluded).
Sources & notes
- Adoption record: Board of Supervisors, Legistar File 477-25, “2025/2026 FISCAL YEAR BUDGET HEARING AND ADOPTION”; Status “Passed,” on agenda 9/23/2025, final action 9/23/2025, history “adopted — Pass.” Legistar item ID 7666667.
- Adoption-record qualification: the resolution attachment itself leaves the date and vote lines blank. The September 23, 2025 adoption date on this page is therefore cited to the Legistar record, not to a filled-in resolution form.
- Sum checks (exact, no rounding gap): $103,878,239 + $139,310,146 = $243,188,385; $243,188,385 − $156,647,029 = $86,541,356; General Fund $2,921,661 + $22,277,677 = $25,199,338.
- Basis flags: all figures are the FY2025-26 budget throughout — never the FY2026-27 budget, never Lassen Municipal Utility District figures, and never LAFCO figures, which are different years or different governments. Only the Fund Summary lines are reproduced: no department-level detail beyond these lines is claimed.
- Officials note: supervisors by district, the County Administrative Officer, and the Clerk of the Board are named as in the Legistar record for File 477-25; no officials have been imported from any other source.
- Photo note: no hero photo — photos are a separate pass and this page ships without one rather than with a substitute.
- Page accent: #334472, the County of Lassen’s official site theme color (lassencounty.gov); the dark-theme accent (#95A5D0) is a lightened tint of the same color for contrast on the dark background.