Decatur, Alabama
← Alabama
Unofficial demonstration dashboard

Decatur, Alabama

Presented through the City of Decatur's 2027 Adopted Annual Budget Report for the fiscal year beginning October 1, 2026. Decatur is the seat of Morgan County, but the City of Decatur and Morgan County are separate governments and are not consolidated here.

Basis — read this first: Every figure on this page is an adopted FY2027 budget figure from the City of Decatur's official budget book, whose title page reads "2027 ADOPTED ANNUAL BUDGET REPORT — FOR THE YEAR BEGINNING OCTOBER 1ST, 2026." That title is the adoption confirmation used here. ADOPTION DATE UNKNOWN — prominent disclosure: the adoption date is not stated on the retrieved title pages of the book, and a council-minutes/agenda check in this pass did not confirm a date, so no adoption date is shown anywhere on this page and none has been invented. Re-check route: City of Decatur council minutes/agendas for late September 2026. Photo: no verified freely-licensed hero photo was confirmed for Decatur within the photo-attempt cap, so this page ships without one rather than with a generic substitute.

Overview

Decatur's adopted FY2027 General Fund is balanced at $105,471,464 — up about $4.27 million (4.22% as printed) from the FY2026 original budget of $101,196,910. Sales and use taxes remain the city's dominant revenue at $53,413,000, about half of General Fund revenues; the city levies a 4% sales tax (9% collected in city limits across all governments). Public safety is the largest spending group at $37,794,746, followed by general government at $22,921,630. Citywide, about $61.33 million is budgeted for employee salaries and benefits in FY2027, at an average budgeted cost of $101,910 per full-time employee. The book is explicit that the portion of taxes belonging to Decatur City Schools is not included in the General Fund.

Source: City of Decatur 2027 Adopted Annual Budget Report.

At a glance

$105,471,464
Adopted General Fund budget, FY2027
$53,413,000
Adopted sales & use taxes, FY2027
$37,794,746
Adopted public safety spending, FY2027
$20,730,902
Adopted Police budget, FY2027
$70,160,000
Warrants outstanding, Oct 1, 2026 (as printed)
$8,697,105
Adopted General Fund debt service, FY2027

Source: City of Decatur 2027 Adopted Annual Budget Report.

General Fund

Adopted FY2027 General Fund revenues and spending both total $105,471,464. The revenue lines below are as printed in the book's trend table, which states figures in thousands; the spending groups below are the book's exact-dollar departmental totals.

Adopted revenue sourceFY2027
Sales & use taxes$53,413,000
Charges for services$12,960,000
Licenses & permits$10,780,000
Other taxes$9,993,000
Intergovernmental$5,899,000
Property tax$5,500,000
Transfers in$2,910,000
Revenue from money & property$2,034,000
Other revenues$1,325,000
Fines & forfeitures$658,000
Gifts & donations$0
Printed General Fund total$105,471,464
Adopted spending groupFY2027
Public safety$37,794,746
General government$22,921,630
Public services$20,060,443
Debt service & financing uses$10,124,679
Public works$9,701,369
Community service contracts$4,300,178
Community development$568,420
Printed General Fund total$105,471,464

Largest departments inside those groups: Police $20,730,902, Fire $15,579,524, Parks and Recreation $10,353,268, and Miscellaneous $10,022,420. Disclosure — thousands-rounding gap (revenues): the revenue lines above are stated in thousands in the book and sum to $105,472,000, $536 above the book's exact General Fund total of $105,471,464; the printed exact total governs. Disclosure — $1 rounding gap (spending): the spending-group rows sum to $105,471,465, $1 above the printed total; the printed total governs. Disclosure — "proposed" wording inside the book: some interior narrative and tables still carry "proposed" labels carried over from drafting; figures on this page are presented as adopted because the book's title page states "2027 ADOPTED ANNUAL BUDGET REPORT."

Source: City of Decatur 2027 Adopted Annual Budget Report.

Other funds & debt

ItemFY2027 adopted
Other governmental funds: revenues$5,603,167
Other governmental funds: expenditures$5,433,803
Board of Education pass-through fund$31,848,747
Landfill & Recycling enterprise: revenues$10,672,691
Warrants outstanding, Oct 1, 2026$70,160,000

Other governmental funds cover the 7-cent, 4 & 5-cent, and Rebuild Alabama gas taxes, the Alabama Capital Improvement Trust Fund, Corrections, Docket Fees, Drug Seizure, Room Occupancy, Opioid Settlement, Personnel Board, and Capital Improvements funds; their revenues exceed their expenditures by $169,364 (the Rebuild fund's $7,000 surplus plus the Room Occupancy fund's $162,364 surplus). Scope — schools: the $31,848,747 Board of Education fund is only the portion of sales, property, tobacco, and PILOT revenue passed through the city to Decatur City Schools; the book states it does not represent the school system's total revenues and expenditures, so it is not added to the General Fund total. Scope — landfill: the Morgan County Regional Landfill and Recycling facility is a 50/50 city-county partnership administered by the city; its revenues are enterprise revenues, not General Fund revenues. The city's 4% sales tax and the TVA payment-in-lieu-of-taxes program are described in the book's revenue narrative.

Source: City of Decatur 2027 Adopted Annual Budget Report.

Sources & notes

  • Source used: City of Decatur, Alabama, 2027 Adopted Annual Budget Report, for the fiscal year beginning October 1, 2026 (official budget book on decatur-al.gov, prepared by the City Finance Department) Read the source document.
  • Sum checks: spending groups $37,794,746 + $22,921,630 + $20,060,443 + $10,124,679 + $9,701,369 + $4,300,178 + $568,420 = $105,471,465 ($1 above the printed $105,471,464 — rounding gap disclosed on the page); other-funds revenues $144,000 + $318,700 + $482,000 + $900,000 + $403,799 + $175,700 + $203,000 + $550,000 + $489,350 + $1,326,618 + $610,000 = $5,603,167; other-funds expenditures $5,433,803; difference $169,364 = $7,000 + $162,364.
  • Identity: this is the City of Decatur, Alabama (Morgan County seat). Morgan County is a separate government and is not consolidated here.
  • Adoption date: UNKNOWN — not stated on the retrieved title pages and not confirmed from council minutes in this pass; re-check route: decatur-al.gov council minutes/agendas, late September 2026. No date is invented on this page.
  • Rejected lookalikes: Decatur, Georgia budget/ACFR material (June 30 fiscal year, City Schools of Decatur) and Decatur, Texas fee-schedule items are different governments and were not used.
  • Scope gaps: no verified hero photo was confirmed within the photo-attempt cap, so this page has none; no jurisdiction color palette was verified, so this page uses the neutral Hometown Numbers dark-glass theme rather than a jurisdiction color.

← Back to Alabama